This is a MuniPro demonstration of a redesigned Texas Bond Review Board website. It is not the official BRB site: nothing filed here reaches BRB, and the email addresses shown are BRB's own.

The official site is brb.texas.gov.

County · Debt explorer

Bell County

Print county brief1 page, fiscal year 2025

Bell County's 26 local governments owed $3.1 billion in principal outstanding at the end of fiscal year 2025, 21st of 252 counties and 9th of 31. Of that, $24.3 million is owed by 1 issuer that also serves other counties. Figures as loaded 10/17/2026.

Showing Total principal outstanding for all local governments, fiscal year 2025. How it is computed: principal outstanding at the fiscal year end, summed over the local governments attributed to the county; computed here from BRB's tables. Method.

Total principal outstanding
$3,077,982,448
Rank
21st of 252
Rank in its size band
9th of 31
Population (county government's row)
399,578
Of which multi-county issuers
$24,257,000

Every bond issue in Bell County in the bond database

Debt by government type, fiscal year 2025

Download CSV
Principal outstanding by government type; the table below gives the figures.Cities: $1.2 billionCounties: $109.4 millionWater Districts: $236.9 millionIndependent School Districts: $1.4billionCommunity & Junior CollegeDistricts: $117.0 million

Governments attributed to Bell County

Download CSV

Each counts here because Bell is the first county BRB lists for it. Per resident uses the government's own reported population, where it reports one.

Governments attributed to the county, fiscal year 2025. Select a column heading to sort by it.
Issuer ?Type ?Principal outstanding ?Per resident ?
TempleCities$818,010,000$8,497
Killeen ISDIndependent School Districts$361,765,000$1,543
Belton ISDIndependent School Districts$359,990,000$5,113
Temple ISDIndependent School Districts$292,905,000$4,148
KilleenCities$266,480,000$1,659
Salado ISDIndependent School Districts$224,085,000$22,093
Bell County WCID 1Water Districts$211,280,000Not reported
Temple JCDCommunity & Junior College Districts$116,960,000$1,347
Bell CountyCounties$109,355,000$274
Academy ISDIndependent School Districts$87,164,994$14,424
Rogers ISDIndependent School Districts$41,851,484$8,824
BeltonCities$41,665,000$1,625
Harker HeightsCities$38,120,000$1,081
Troy ISDIndependent School Districts$24,689,997$3,310
Bartlett ISD
also lists Milam, Williamson
Independent School Districts$24,257,000$4,230
Bell County MUD 1Water Districts$17,855,000$5,663
SaladoCities$12,980,000$5,228
Bell County WCID 3Water Districts$6,514,000Not reported
Holland ISDIndependent School Districts$6,185,000$2,433
RogersCities$4,949,000$4,503
TroyCities$3,490,000$1,018
BartlettCities$2,130,000$1,271
Morgan's Point ResortCities$1,822,973$382
NolanvilleCities$1,630,000$220
Bell County WCID 2-Little RiverWater Districts$1,285,000Not reported
HollandCities$563,000$499

Scroll for more columns →

Governments attributed to the county, fiscal year 2025. Select a column heading to sort by it.
Issuer ?Type ?Principal outstanding ?Per resident ?
TempleCities$818,010,000$8,497
Killeen ISDIndependent School Districts$361,765,000$1,543
Belton ISDIndependent School Districts$359,990,000$5,113
Temple ISDIndependent School Districts$292,905,000$4,148
KilleenCities$266,480,000$1,659
Salado ISDIndependent School Districts$224,085,000$22,093
Bell County WCID 1Water Districts$211,280,000Not reported
Temple JCDCommunity & Junior College Districts$116,960,000$1,347
Bell CountyCounties$109,355,000$274
Academy ISDIndependent School Districts$87,164,994$14,424
Rogers ISDIndependent School Districts$41,851,484$8,824
BeltonCities$41,665,000$1,625
Harker HeightsCities$38,120,000$1,081
Troy ISDIndependent School Districts$24,689,997$3,310
Bartlett ISD
also lists Milam, Williamson
Independent School Districts$24,257,000$4,230
Bell County MUD 1Water Districts$17,855,000$5,663
SaladoCities$12,980,000$5,228
Bell County WCID 3Water Districts$6,514,000Not reported
Holland ISDIndependent School Districts$6,185,000$2,433
RogersCities$4,949,000$4,503
TroyCities$3,490,000$1,018
BartlettCities$2,130,000$1,271
Morgan's Point ResortCities$1,822,973$382
NolanvilleCities$1,630,000$220
Bell County WCID 2-Little RiverWater Districts$1,285,000Not reported
HollandCities$563,000$499
  1. TempleCitiesPrincipal $818,010,000Per resident: $8,497
  2. Killeen ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $361,765,000Per resident: $1,543
  3. Belton ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $359,990,000Per resident: $5,113
  4. Temple ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $292,905,000Per resident: $4,148
  5. KilleenCitiesPrincipal $266,480,000Per resident: $1,659
  6. Salado ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $224,085,000Per resident: $22,093
  7. Bell County WCID 1Water DistrictsPrincipal $211,280,000Per resident: Not reported
  8. Temple JCDCommunity & Junior College DistrictsPrincipal $116,960,000Per resident: $1,347
  9. Bell CountyCountiesPrincipal $109,355,000Per resident: $274
  10. Academy ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $87,164,994Per resident: $14,424
  11. Rogers ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $41,851,484Per resident: $8,824
  12. BeltonCitiesPrincipal $41,665,000Per resident: $1,625
  13. Harker HeightsCitiesPrincipal $38,120,000Per resident: $1,081
  14. Troy ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $24,689,997Per resident: $3,310
  15. Bartlett ISDIndependent School Districts; also lists Milam, WilliamsonPrincipal $24,257,000Per resident: $4,230
  16. Bell County MUD 1Water DistrictsPrincipal $17,855,000Per resident: $5,663
  17. SaladoCitiesPrincipal $12,980,000Per resident: $5,228
  18. Bell County WCID 3Water DistrictsPrincipal $6,514,000Per resident: Not reported
  19. Holland ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $6,185,000Per resident: $2,433
  20. RogersCitiesPrincipal $4,949,000Per resident: $4,503
  21. TroyCitiesPrincipal $3,490,000Per resident: $1,018
  22. BartlettCitiesPrincipal $2,130,000Per resident: $1,271
  23. Morgan's Point ResortCitiesPrincipal $1,822,973Per resident: $382
  24. NolanvilleCitiesPrincipal $1,630,000Per resident: $220
  25. Bell County WCID 2-Little RiverWater DistrictsPrincipal $1,285,000Per resident: Not reported
  26. HollandCitiesPrincipal $563,000Per resident: $499

Rows 1–26 of 26

Skip the governments table

Also serve Bell County

Download CSV

$24,257,000 of this county's $3,077,982,448 (1%) is owed by 1 issuer attributed here that lists other counties too. These 1 issuer list Bell County but count in another county, the first one listed for each:

Issuers that list this county but count in another
Issuer?Type?Counted in?Principal outstanding?
Rosebud-Lott ISDIndependent School DistrictsFalls$32,305,000

Scroll for more columns →

Issuers that list this county but count in another
Issuer?Type?Counted in?Principal outstanding?
Rosebud-Lott ISDIndependent School DistrictsFalls$32,305,000

Over the years

Download CSV
Principal outstanding at each fiscal year end; the table below gives the figures.$1.3billion2016$1.4billion2017$1.7billion2018$1.9billion2019$1.8billion2020$2.2billion2021$2.5billion2022$2.6billion2023$2.8billion2024$3.1billion2025
2016: $1.3 billion; 2025: $3.1 billion
Principal outstanding, issuers and population at each fiscal year end
Fiscal year?Principal outstanding?Issuers?Population?
Fiscal year2025Principal outstanding$3,077,982,448Issuers26Population399,578
Fiscal year2024Principal outstanding$2,819,078,319Issuers26Population393,193
Fiscal year2023Principal outstanding$2,557,687,401Issuers26Population388,386
Fiscal year2022Principal outstanding$2,503,159,486Issuers26Population379,617
Fiscal year2021Principal outstanding$2,197,538,368Issuers26Population370,647
Fiscal year2020Principal outstanding$1,832,358,188Issuers26Population362,924
Fiscal year2019Principal outstanding$1,867,565,717Issuers26Population355,642
Fiscal year2018Principal outstanding$1,692,066,896Issuers25Population347,833
Fiscal year2017Principal outstanding$1,385,397,194Issuers25Population340,411
Fiscal year2016Principal outstanding$1,305,346,389Issuers25Population334,941

Scroll for more columns →

Principal outstanding, issuers and population at each fiscal year end
Fiscal year?Principal outstanding?Issuers?Population?
Fiscal year2025Principal outstanding$3,077,982,448Issuers26Population399,578
Fiscal year2024Principal outstanding$2,819,078,319Issuers26Population393,193
Fiscal year2023Principal outstanding$2,557,687,401Issuers26Population388,386
Fiscal year2022Principal outstanding$2,503,159,486Issuers26Population379,617
Fiscal year2021Principal outstanding$2,197,538,368Issuers26Population370,647
Fiscal year2020Principal outstanding$1,832,358,188Issuers26Population362,924
Fiscal year2019Principal outstanding$1,867,565,717Issuers26Population355,642
Fiscal year2018Principal outstanding$1,692,066,896Issuers25Population347,833
Fiscal year2017Principal outstanding$1,385,397,194Issuers25Population340,411
Fiscal year2016Principal outstanding$1,305,346,389Issuers25Population334,941

How these figures are made

Total principal outstanding

principal outstanding at the fiscal year end, summed over the local governments attributed to the county; computed here from BRB's tables for fiscal year 2025. It has no denominator.

Which governments count here

BRB's County field lists every county an issuer serves and gives no shares. An issuer's debt counts in its home county, the first county listed for it, so each dollar counts once statewide. Of Bell County's $3,077,982,448, $24,257,000 is owed by issuers that list other counties too. Issuers that list Bell County but count in another are under "Also serve Bell County". Per resident in the issuer list uses each government's own reported population, where it reports one.

Not reported means no government of the chosen type in the county reported the amount that year, or the denominator was not reported. It is never shown as zero.

Fiscal years: Texas fiscal years run September 1 to August 31. Local governments report at the end of their own fiscal year, as BRB's tables do.

The full method, with the class breaks and the size bands, is on the explorer's main page. Sources are listed below.

EMMA links are added as each issue is matched.

Source: Local Issuance Fee By Year (updated by the publisher 10/6/2026); Debt Outstanding By Issuance Local By Year (updated by the publisher 9/9/2026). Loaded here 10/17/2026.

Texas fiscal years run September 1 to August 31.

Issuer names are shown as published, without source footnote letters.

Figures are as reported to the agency and have not been independently verified.