This is a MuniPro demonstration of a redesigned Texas Bond Review Board website. It is not the official BRB site: nothing filed here reaches BRB, and the email addresses shown are BRB's own.

The official site is brb.texas.gov.

County · Debt explorer

Castro County

Print county brief1 page, fiscal year 2025

Castro County's 6 local governments owed $39.9 million in principal outstanding at the end of fiscal year 2025, 183rd of 252 counties and 16th of 37. Figures as loaded 10/17/2026.

Showing Total principal outstanding for all local governments, fiscal year 2025. How it is computed: principal outstanding at the fiscal year end, summed over the local governments attributed to the county; computed here from BRB's tables. Method.

Total principal outstanding
$39,911,665
Rank
183rd of 252
Rank in its size band
16th of 37
Population (county government's row)
7,380
Of which multi-county issuers
$0

Every bond issue in Castro County in the bond database

Debt by government type, fiscal year 2025

Download CSV
Principal outstanding by government type; the table below gives the figures.Cities: $262,000Counties: $1.5 millionIndependent School Districts: $29.6millionHealth & Hospital Districts: $8.5million

Governments attributed to Castro County

Download CSV

Each counts here because Castro is the first county BRB lists for it. Per resident uses the government's own reported population, where it reports one.

Governments attributed to the county, fiscal year 2025. Select a column heading to sort by it.
Issuer ?Type ?Principal outstanding ?Per resident ?
Dimmitt ISDIndependent School Districts$26,135,000$4,057
Castro County Hospital DistrictHealth & Hospital Districts$8,539,665$1,098
Nazareth ISDIndependent School Districts$2,200,000$3,138
Castro CountyCounties$1,490,000$202
Hart ISDIndependent School Districts$1,285,000$1,374
NazarethCities$262,000$845

Scroll for more columns →

Governments attributed to the county, fiscal year 2025. Select a column heading to sort by it.
Issuer ?Type ?Principal outstanding ?Per resident ?
Dimmitt ISDIndependent School Districts$26,135,000$4,057
Castro County Hospital DistrictHealth & Hospital Districts$8,539,665$1,098
Nazareth ISDIndependent School Districts$2,200,000$3,138
Castro CountyCounties$1,490,000$202
Hart ISDIndependent School Districts$1,285,000$1,374
NazarethCities$262,000$845
  1. Dimmitt ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $26,135,000Per resident: $4,057
  2. Castro County Hospital DistrictHealth & Hospital DistrictsPrincipal $8,539,665Per resident: $1,098
  3. Nazareth ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $2,200,000Per resident: $3,138
  4. Castro CountyCountiesPrincipal $1,490,000Per resident: $202
  5. Hart ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $1,285,000Per resident: $1,374
  6. NazarethCitiesPrincipal $262,000Per resident: $845

Rows 1–6 of 6

Skip the governments table

Also serve Castro County

No issuer counted in another county lists Castro County.

Over the years

Download CSV
Principal outstanding at each fiscal year end; the table below gives the figures.$14.6million2016$42.3million2017$48.2million2018$48.1million2019$49.4million2020$46.8million2021$44.3million2022$42.4million2023$40.1million2024$39.9million2025
2016: $14.6 million; 2025: $39.9 million
Principal outstanding, issuers and population at each fiscal year end
Fiscal year?Principal outstanding?Issuers?Population?
Fiscal year2025Principal outstanding$39,911,665Issuers6Population7,380
Fiscal year2024Principal outstanding$40,085,921Issuers6Population7,227
Fiscal year2023Principal outstanding$42,446,891Issuers6Population7,298
Fiscal year2022Principal outstanding$44,309,833Issuers6Population7,374
Fiscal year2021Principal outstanding$46,765,004Issuers6Population7,371
Fiscal year2020Principal outstanding$49,408,386Issuers6Population7,530
Fiscal year2019Principal outstanding$48,064,863Issuers6Population7,665
Fiscal year2018Principal outstanding$48,218,499Issuers5Population7,843
Fiscal year2017Principal outstanding$42,282,659Issuers5Population7,669
Fiscal year2016Principal outstanding$14,628,459Issuers3PopulationNot reported

Scroll for more columns →

Principal outstanding, issuers and population at each fiscal year end
Fiscal year?Principal outstanding?Issuers?Population?
Fiscal year2025Principal outstanding$39,911,665Issuers6Population7,380
Fiscal year2024Principal outstanding$40,085,921Issuers6Population7,227
Fiscal year2023Principal outstanding$42,446,891Issuers6Population7,298
Fiscal year2022Principal outstanding$44,309,833Issuers6Population7,374
Fiscal year2021Principal outstanding$46,765,004Issuers6Population7,371
Fiscal year2020Principal outstanding$49,408,386Issuers6Population7,530
Fiscal year2019Principal outstanding$48,064,863Issuers6Population7,665
Fiscal year2018Principal outstanding$48,218,499Issuers5Population7,843
Fiscal year2017Principal outstanding$42,282,659Issuers5Population7,669
Fiscal year2016Principal outstanding$14,628,459Issuers3PopulationNot reported

How these figures are made

Total principal outstanding

principal outstanding at the fiscal year end, summed over the local governments attributed to the county; computed here from BRB's tables for fiscal year 2025. It has no denominator.

Which governments count here

BRB's County field lists every county an issuer serves and gives no shares. An issuer's debt counts in its home county, the first county listed for it, so each dollar counts once statewide. Issuers that list Castro County but count in another are under "Also serve Castro County". Per resident in the issuer list uses each government's own reported population, where it reports one.

Not reported means no government of the chosen type in the county reported the amount that year, or the denominator was not reported. It is never shown as zero.

Fiscal years: Texas fiscal years run September 1 to August 31. Local governments report at the end of their own fiscal year, as BRB's tables do.

The full method, with the class breaks and the size bands, is on the explorer's main page. Sources are listed below.

EMMA links are added as each issue is matched.

Source: Local Issuance Fee By Year (updated by the publisher 10/6/2026); Debt Outstanding By Issuance Local By Year (updated by the publisher 9/9/2026). Loaded here 10/17/2026.

Texas fiscal years run September 1 to August 31.

Issuer names are shown as published, without source footnote letters.

Figures are as reported to the agency and have not been independently verified.