This is a MuniPro demonstration of a redesigned Texas Bond Review Board website. It is not the official BRB site: nothing filed here reaches BRB, and the email addresses shown are BRB's own.

The official site is brb.texas.gov.

County · Debt explorer

Cherokee County

Print county brief1 page, fiscal year 2025

Cherokee County's 10 local governments owed $124.3 million in principal outstanding at the end of fiscal year 2025, 112th of 252 counties. Of that, $4.2 million is owed by 2 issuers that also serve other counties. Figures as loaded 10/17/2026.

Showing Total principal outstanding for all local governments, fiscal year 2025. How it is computed: principal outstanding at the fiscal year end, summed over the local governments attributed to the county; computed here from BRB's tables. Method.

Total principal outstanding
$124,310,666
Rank
112th of 252
Rank in its size band
Not reported
Population (county government's row)
Not reported
Of which multi-county issuers
$4,221,000

Every bond issue in Cherokee County in the bond database

Debt by government type, fiscal year 2025

Download CSV
Principal outstanding by government type; the table below gives the figures.Cities: $40.8 millionIndependent School Districts: $83.5million

Governments attributed to Cherokee County

Download CSV

Each counts here because Cherokee is the first county BRB lists for it. Per resident uses the government's own reported population, where it reports one.

Governments attributed to the county, fiscal year 2025. Select a column heading to sort by it.
Issuer ?Type ?Principal outstanding ?Per resident ?
Jacksonville ISDIndependent School Districts$62,040,000$2,492
JacksonvilleCities$26,229,000$1,792
RuskCities$11,340,000$2,042
Alto ISDIndependent School Districts$9,075,000$2,495
New Summerfield ISDIndependent School Districts$6,385,666$2,970
Rusk ISD
also lists Rusk
Independent School Districts$3,985,000$306
Wells ISDIndependent School Districts$2,040,000$3,452
AltoCities$1,500,000$1,410
WellsCities$1,480,000$1,639
Reklaw
also lists Rusk
Cities$236,000$684

Scroll for more columns →

Governments attributed to the county, fiscal year 2025. Select a column heading to sort by it.
Issuer ?Type ?Principal outstanding ?Per resident ?
Jacksonville ISDIndependent School Districts$62,040,000$2,492
JacksonvilleCities$26,229,000$1,792
RuskCities$11,340,000$2,042
Alto ISDIndependent School Districts$9,075,000$2,495
New Summerfield ISDIndependent School Districts$6,385,666$2,970
Rusk ISD
also lists Rusk
Independent School Districts$3,985,000$306
Wells ISDIndependent School Districts$2,040,000$3,452
AltoCities$1,500,000$1,410
WellsCities$1,480,000$1,639
Reklaw
also lists Rusk
Cities$236,000$684
  1. Jacksonville ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $62,040,000Per resident: $2,492
  2. JacksonvilleCitiesPrincipal $26,229,000Per resident: $1,792
  3. RuskCitiesPrincipal $11,340,000Per resident: $2,042
  4. Alto ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $9,075,000Per resident: $2,495
  5. New Summerfield ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $6,385,666Per resident: $2,970
  6. Rusk ISDIndependent School Districts; also lists RuskPrincipal $3,985,000Per resident: $306
  7. Wells ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $2,040,000Per resident: $3,452
  8. AltoCitiesPrincipal $1,500,000Per resident: $1,410
  9. WellsCitiesPrincipal $1,480,000Per resident: $1,639
  10. ReklawCities; also lists RuskPrincipal $236,000Per resident: $684

Rows 1–10 of 10

Skip the governments table

Also serve Cherokee County

$4,221,000 of this county's $124,310,666 (3%) is owed by 2 issuers attributed here that list other counties too. No issuer counted in another county lists Cherokee County.

Over the years

Download CSV
Principal outstanding at each fiscal year end; the table below gives the figures.$114.3million2016$130.3million2017$125.1million2018$129.4million2019$144.3million2020$133.7million2021$132.5million2022$129.1million2023$122.9million2024$124.3million2025
2016: $114.3 million; 2025: $124.3 million
Principal outstanding, issuers and population at each fiscal year end
Fiscal year?Principal outstanding?Issuers?Population?
Fiscal year2025Principal outstanding$124,310,666Issuers10PopulationNot reported
Fiscal year2024Principal outstanding$122,850,078Issuers10PopulationNot reported
Fiscal year2023Principal outstanding$129,141,613Issuers10PopulationNot reported
Fiscal year2022Principal outstanding$132,460,582Issuers10PopulationNot reported
Fiscal year2021Principal outstanding$133,707,126Issuers10PopulationNot reported
Fiscal year2020Principal outstanding$144,266,070Issuers10PopulationNot reported
Fiscal year2019Principal outstanding$129,415,029Issuers9PopulationNot reported
Fiscal year2018Principal outstanding$125,070,019Issuers9PopulationNot reported
Fiscal year2017Principal outstanding$130,316,057Issuers10PopulationNot reported
Fiscal year2016Principal outstanding$114,338,160Issuers10PopulationNot reported

Scroll for more columns →

Principal outstanding, issuers and population at each fiscal year end
Fiscal year?Principal outstanding?Issuers?Population?
Fiscal year2025Principal outstanding$124,310,666Issuers10PopulationNot reported
Fiscal year2024Principal outstanding$122,850,078Issuers10PopulationNot reported
Fiscal year2023Principal outstanding$129,141,613Issuers10PopulationNot reported
Fiscal year2022Principal outstanding$132,460,582Issuers10PopulationNot reported
Fiscal year2021Principal outstanding$133,707,126Issuers10PopulationNot reported
Fiscal year2020Principal outstanding$144,266,070Issuers10PopulationNot reported
Fiscal year2019Principal outstanding$129,415,029Issuers9PopulationNot reported
Fiscal year2018Principal outstanding$125,070,019Issuers9PopulationNot reported
Fiscal year2017Principal outstanding$130,316,057Issuers10PopulationNot reported
Fiscal year2016Principal outstanding$114,338,160Issuers10PopulationNot reported

How these figures are made

Total principal outstanding

principal outstanding at the fiscal year end, summed over the local governments attributed to the county; computed here from BRB's tables for fiscal year 2025. It has no denominator.

Which governments count here

BRB's County field lists every county an issuer serves and gives no shares. An issuer's debt counts in its home county, the first county listed for it, so each dollar counts once statewide. Of Cherokee County's $124,310,666, $4,221,000 is owed by issuers that list other counties too. Issuers that list Cherokee County but count in another are under "Also serve Cherokee County". Per resident in the issuer list uses each government's own reported population, where it reports one.

Not reported means no government of the chosen type in the county reported the amount that year, or the denominator was not reported. It is never shown as zero.

Fiscal years: Texas fiscal years run September 1 to August 31. Local governments report at the end of their own fiscal year, as BRB's tables do.

The full method, with the class breaks and the size bands, is on the explorer's main page. Sources are listed below.

EMMA links are added as each issue is matched.

Source: Local Issuance Fee By Year (updated by the publisher 10/6/2026); Debt Outstanding By Issuance Local By Year (updated by the publisher 9/9/2026). Loaded here 10/17/2026.

Texas fiscal years run September 1 to August 31.

Issuer names are shown as published, without source footnote letters.

Figures are as reported to the agency and have not been independently verified.