This is a MuniPro demonstration of a redesigned Texas Bond Review Board website. It is not the official BRB site: nothing filed here reaches BRB, and the email addresses shown are BRB's own.

The official site is brb.texas.gov.

County · Debt explorer

Galveston County

Print county brief1 page, fiscal year 2025

Galveston County's 8 Independent School Districts owed $2.5 billion in principal outstanding at the end of fiscal year 2025, 12th of 245 counties and 1st of 31. Figures as loaded 10/17/2026.

Showing Total principal outstanding for Independent School Districts, fiscal year 2025. How it is computed: principal outstanding at the fiscal year end, summed over the local governments attributed to the county; computed here from BRB's tables. Method.

Total principal outstanding
$2,537,925,000
Rank
12th of 245
Rank in its size band
1st of 31
Population (county government's row)
367,407
Of which multi-county issuers
$0

Every bond issue in Galveston County in the bond database

Debt by government type, fiscal year 2025

Download CSV
Principal outstanding by government type; the table below gives the figures.Independent School Districts: $2.5billion
Principal outstanding by government type
Type?Issuers?Principal outstanding?Share?
Independent School DistrictsIssuers8Principal outstanding$2,537,925,000Share100.0%
TotalIssuers8Principal outstanding$2,537,925,000Share100.0%

Scroll for more columns →

Principal outstanding by government type
Type?Issuers?Principal outstanding?Share?
Independent School DistrictsIssuers8Principal outstanding$2,537,925,000Share100.0%
TotalIssuers8Principal outstanding$2,537,925,000Share100.0%

Governments attributed to Galveston County

Download CSV

Each counts here because Galveston is the first county BRB lists for it. Per resident uses the government's own reported population, where it reports one.

Governments attributed to the county, fiscal year 2025. Select a column heading to sort by it.
Issuer ?Type ?Principal outstanding ?Per resident ?
Clear Creek ISDIndependent School Districts$1,151,620,000$4,932
Dickinson ISDIndependent School Districts$435,580,000$6,499
Galveston ISDIndependent School Districts$320,590,000$6,363
Texas City ISDIndependent School Districts$281,980,000$15,590
Friendswood ISDIndependent School Districts$180,565,000$5,978
Santa Fe ISDIndependent School Districts$74,020,000$2,657
Hitchcock ISDIndependent School Districts$58,630,000$5,232
High Island ISDIndependent School Districts$34,940,000$72,944

Scroll for more columns →

Governments attributed to the county, fiscal year 2025. Select a column heading to sort by it.
Issuer ?Type ?Principal outstanding ?Per resident ?
Clear Creek ISDIndependent School Districts$1,151,620,000$4,932
Dickinson ISDIndependent School Districts$435,580,000$6,499
Galveston ISDIndependent School Districts$320,590,000$6,363
Texas City ISDIndependent School Districts$281,980,000$15,590
Friendswood ISDIndependent School Districts$180,565,000$5,978
Santa Fe ISDIndependent School Districts$74,020,000$2,657
Hitchcock ISDIndependent School Districts$58,630,000$5,232
High Island ISDIndependent School Districts$34,940,000$72,944
  1. Clear Creek ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $1,151,620,000Per resident: $4,932
  2. Dickinson ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $435,580,000Per resident: $6,499
  3. Galveston ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $320,590,000Per resident: $6,363
  4. Texas City ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $281,980,000Per resident: $15,590
  5. Friendswood ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $180,565,000Per resident: $5,978
  6. Santa Fe ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $74,020,000Per resident: $2,657
  7. Hitchcock ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $58,630,000Per resident: $5,232
  8. High Island ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $34,940,000Per resident: $72,944

Rows 1–8 of 8

Skip the governments table

Also serve Galveston County

No issuer counted in another county lists Galveston County.

Over the years

Download CSV
Principal outstanding at each fiscal year end; the table below gives the figures.$1.5billion2016$1.5billion2017$1.7billion2018$1.7billion2019$1.7billion2020$2.0billion2021$2.1billion2022$2.4billion2023$2.5billion2024$2.5billion2025
2016: $1.5 billion; 2025: $2.5 billion
Principal outstanding, issuers and population at each fiscal year end
Fiscal year?Principal outstanding?Issuers?Population?
Fiscal year2025Principal outstanding$2,537,925,000Issuers8Population367,407
Fiscal year2024Principal outstanding$2,474,075,000Issuers8Population361,744
Fiscal year2023Principal outstanding$2,425,260,000Issuers8Population357,117
Fiscal year2022Principal outstanding$2,149,460,000Issuers8Population355,062
Fiscal year2021Principal outstanding$1,953,305,000Issuers8Population350,682
Fiscal year2020Principal outstanding$1,731,592,549Issuers8Population342,139
Fiscal year2019Principal outstanding$1,698,760,096Issuers8Population337,890
Fiscal year2018Principal outstanding$1,712,013,593Issuers8Population335,036
Fiscal year2017Principal outstanding$1,516,855,627Issuers8Population329,431
Fiscal year2016Principal outstanding$1,490,137,950Issuers8Population322,225

Scroll for more columns →

Principal outstanding, issuers and population at each fiscal year end
Fiscal year?Principal outstanding?Issuers?Population?
Fiscal year2025Principal outstanding$2,537,925,000Issuers8Population367,407
Fiscal year2024Principal outstanding$2,474,075,000Issuers8Population361,744
Fiscal year2023Principal outstanding$2,425,260,000Issuers8Population357,117
Fiscal year2022Principal outstanding$2,149,460,000Issuers8Population355,062
Fiscal year2021Principal outstanding$1,953,305,000Issuers8Population350,682
Fiscal year2020Principal outstanding$1,731,592,549Issuers8Population342,139
Fiscal year2019Principal outstanding$1,698,760,096Issuers8Population337,890
Fiscal year2018Principal outstanding$1,712,013,593Issuers8Population335,036
Fiscal year2017Principal outstanding$1,516,855,627Issuers8Population329,431
Fiscal year2016Principal outstanding$1,490,137,950Issuers8Population322,225

How these figures are made

Total principal outstanding

principal outstanding at the fiscal year end, summed over the local governments attributed to the county; computed here from BRB's tables for fiscal year 2025. It has no denominator.

Which governments count here

BRB's County field lists every county an issuer serves and gives no shares. An issuer's debt counts in its home county, the first county listed for it, so each dollar counts once statewide. Issuers that list Galveston County but count in another are under "Also serve Galveston County". Per resident in the issuer list uses each government's own reported population, where it reports one.

Not reported means no government of the chosen type in the county reported the amount that year, or the denominator was not reported. It is never shown as zero.

Fiscal years: Texas fiscal years run September 1 to August 31. Local governments report at the end of their own fiscal year, as BRB's tables do.

The full method, with the class breaks and the size bands, is on the explorer's main page. Sources are listed below.

EMMA links are added as each issue is matched.

Source: Local Issuance Fee By Year (updated by the publisher 10/6/2026); Debt Outstanding By Issuance Local By Year (updated by the publisher 9/9/2026). Loaded here 10/17/2026.

Texas fiscal years run September 1 to August 31.

Issuer names are shown as published, without source footnote letters.

Figures are as reported to the agency and have not been independently verified.