County brief: Uvalde County
Texas Bond Review BoardData Center
Debt explorer, Data Center. Showing Total principal outstanding for all local governments, fiscal year 2025.
Uvalde County's 9 local governments owed $160.8 million in principal outstanding at the end of fiscal year 2025, 94th of 252 counties and 13th of 53. Of that, $26.2 million is owed by 2 issuers that also serve other counties.
- Total principal outstanding
- $160,815,698
- Rank
- 94th of 252
- Rank in its size band
- 13th of 53(10,000 to 49,999)
- Total principal outstanding
- $160,815,698
- Population (county government's row)
- 25,138
- Of which multi-county issuers
- $26,245,000
Debt by government type
| Type | Issuers | Principal outstanding | Share | Share, as a bar |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cities | 1 | $14,260,000 | 8.9% | |
| Counties | 1 | $24,400,000 | 15.2% | |
| Water Districts | 2 | $24,041,698 | 14.9% | |
| Independent School Districts | 3 | $15,964,000 | 9.9% | |
| Community & Junior College Districts | 1 | $24,220,000 | 15.1% | |
| Health & Hospital Districts | 1 | $57,930,000 | 36.0% | |
| Total | 9 | $160,815,698 | 100.0% |
Over the years
Largest of the 9 governments
| Issuer | Type | Principal outstanding | Per resident |
|---|---|---|---|
| Uvalde County Hospital Authority | Health & Hospital Districts | $57,930,000 | Not reported |
| Uvalde County | Counties | $24,400,000 | $971 |
| Southwest Texas JCD | Community & Junior College Districts | $24,220,000 | $652 |
| Nueces RA | Water Districts | $22,016,698 | $110 |
| Uvalde | Cities | $14,260,000 | $915 |
| Uvalde CISD | Independent School Districts | $7,164,000 | $326 |
| Sabinal ISD | Independent School Districts | $6,555,000 | $3,418 |
| Knippa ISD | Independent School Districts | $2,245,000 | $1,604 |
| Edwards Aquifer Authority | Water Districts | $2,025,000 | Not reported |
How these figures are made. BRB lists every county an issuer serves and gives no shares, so an issuer's debt counts in its home county, the first county listed for it, and each dollar counts once statewide. Of Uvalde County's $160,815,698, $26,245,000 is owed by 2 issuers that list other counties too; 0 issuers that list Uvalde County count in another. Total principal outstanding: principal outstanding at the fiscal year end, summed over the local governments attributed to the county. "Not reported" is never shown as zero.
Source: Texas Bond Review Board open data on data.texas.gov: Local Issuance Fee By Year (updated by the publisher 10/6/2026); Debt Outstanding By Issuance Local By Year (updated by the publisher 9/9/2026). Loaded here 10/17/2026. Computed here from BRB's tables. Texas fiscal years run September 1 to August 31. Issuer names are shown as published, without source footnote letters. Figures are as reported to the agency and have not been independently verified.
