This is a MuniPro demonstration of a redesigned Texas Bond Review Board website. It is not the official BRB site: nothing filed here reaches BRB, and the email addresses shown are BRB's own.

The official site is brb.texas.gov.

County · Debt explorer

Washington County

Print county brief1 page, fiscal year 2025

Washington County's 7 local governments owed $231.5 million in principal outstanding at the end of fiscal year 2025, 76th of 252 counties. Figures as loaded 10/17/2026.

Showing Total principal outstanding for all local governments, fiscal year 2025. How it is computed: principal outstanding at the fiscal year end, summed over the local governments attributed to the county; computed here from BRB's tables. Method.

Total principal outstanding
$231,503,370
Rank
76th of 252
Rank in its size band
Not reported
Population (county government's row)
Not reported
Of which multi-county issuers
$0

Every bond issue in Washington County in the bond database

Debt by government type, fiscal year 2025

Download CSV
Principal outstanding by government type; the table below gives the figures.Cities: $70.1 millionWater Districts: $370,000Independent School Districts: $68.7millionCommunity & Junior CollegeDistricts: $91.5 millionOther Special Districts: $825,000

Governments attributed to Washington County

Download CSV

Each counts here because Washington is the first county BRB lists for it. Per resident uses the government's own reported population, where it reports one.

Governments attributed to the county, fiscal year 2025. Select a column heading to sort by it.
Issuer ?Type ?Principal outstanding ?Per resident ?
Washington County (Blinn) JCDCommunity & Junior College Districts$91,500,000$3,096
BrenhamCities$69,215,000$3,508
Burton ISDIndependent School Districts$41,525,000$8,280
Brenham ISDIndependent School Districts$27,188,370$909
BurtonCities$880,000$3,077
Pecan Glen Road DistrictOther Special Districts$825,000Not reported
Oak Hill FWSD 1Water Districts$370,000Not reported

Scroll for more columns →

Governments attributed to the county, fiscal year 2025. Select a column heading to sort by it.
Issuer ?Type ?Principal outstanding ?Per resident ?
Washington County (Blinn) JCDCommunity & Junior College Districts$91,500,000$3,096
BrenhamCities$69,215,000$3,508
Burton ISDIndependent School Districts$41,525,000$8,280
Brenham ISDIndependent School Districts$27,188,370$909
BurtonCities$880,000$3,077
Pecan Glen Road DistrictOther Special Districts$825,000Not reported
Oak Hill FWSD 1Water Districts$370,000Not reported
  1. Washington County (Blinn) JCDCommunity & Junior College DistrictsPrincipal $91,500,000Per resident: $3,096
  2. BrenhamCitiesPrincipal $69,215,000Per resident: $3,508
  3. Burton ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $41,525,000Per resident: $8,280
  4. Brenham ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $27,188,370Per resident: $909
  5. BurtonCitiesPrincipal $880,000Per resident: $3,077
  6. Pecan Glen Road DistrictOther Special DistrictsPrincipal $825,000Per resident: Not reported
  7. Oak Hill FWSD 1Water DistrictsPrincipal $370,000Per resident: Not reported

Rows 1–7 of 7

Skip the governments table

Also serve Washington County

No issuer counted in another county lists Washington County.

Over the years

Download CSV
Principal outstanding at each fiscal year end; the table below gives the figures.$171.7million2016$166.3million2017$155.8million2018$176.9million2019$172.8million2020$177.0million2021$218.2million2022$216.2million2023$212.6million2024$231.5million2025
2016: $171.7 million; 2025: $231.5 million
Principal outstanding, issuers and population at each fiscal year end
Fiscal year?Principal outstanding?Issuers?Population?
Fiscal year2025Principal outstanding$231,503,370Issuers7PopulationNot reported
Fiscal year2024Principal outstanding$212,625,300Issuers8Population37,007
Fiscal year2023Principal outstanding$216,200,471Issuers8Population36,159
Fiscal year2022Principal outstanding$218,159,161Issuers8Population35,891
Fiscal year2021Principal outstanding$177,044,261Issuers7Population35,805
Fiscal year2020Principal outstanding$172,772,638Issuers7Population35,882
Fiscal year2019Principal outstanding$176,945,374Issuers7Population35,108
Fiscal year2018Principal outstanding$155,757,999Issuers7Population35,043
Fiscal year2017Principal outstanding$166,330,626Issuers7Population35,056
Fiscal year2016Principal outstanding$171,706,244Issuers7Population34,765

Scroll for more columns →

Principal outstanding, issuers and population at each fiscal year end
Fiscal year?Principal outstanding?Issuers?Population?
Fiscal year2025Principal outstanding$231,503,370Issuers7PopulationNot reported
Fiscal year2024Principal outstanding$212,625,300Issuers8Population37,007
Fiscal year2023Principal outstanding$216,200,471Issuers8Population36,159
Fiscal year2022Principal outstanding$218,159,161Issuers8Population35,891
Fiscal year2021Principal outstanding$177,044,261Issuers7Population35,805
Fiscal year2020Principal outstanding$172,772,638Issuers7Population35,882
Fiscal year2019Principal outstanding$176,945,374Issuers7Population35,108
Fiscal year2018Principal outstanding$155,757,999Issuers7Population35,043
Fiscal year2017Principal outstanding$166,330,626Issuers7Population35,056
Fiscal year2016Principal outstanding$171,706,244Issuers7Population34,765

How these figures are made

Total principal outstanding

principal outstanding at the fiscal year end, summed over the local governments attributed to the county; computed here from BRB's tables for fiscal year 2025. It has no denominator.

Which governments count here

BRB's County field lists every county an issuer serves and gives no shares. An issuer's debt counts in its home county, the first county listed for it, so each dollar counts once statewide. Issuers that list Washington County but count in another are under "Also serve Washington County". Per resident in the issuer list uses each government's own reported population, where it reports one.

Not reported means no government of the chosen type in the county reported the amount that year, or the denominator was not reported. It is never shown as zero.

Fiscal years: Texas fiscal years run September 1 to August 31. Local governments report at the end of their own fiscal year, as BRB's tables do.

The full method, with the class breaks and the size bands, is on the explorer's main page. Sources are listed below.

EMMA links are added as each issue is matched.

Source: Local Issuance Fee By Year (updated by the publisher 10/6/2026); Debt Outstanding By Issuance Local By Year (updated by the publisher 9/9/2026). Loaded here 10/17/2026.

Texas fiscal years run September 1 to August 31.

Issuer names are shown as published, without source footnote letters.

Figures are as reported to the agency and have not been independently verified.