This is a MuniPro demonstration of a redesigned Texas Bond Review Board website. It is not the official BRB site: nothing filed here reaches BRB, and the email addresses shown are BRB's own.

The official site is brb.texas.gov.

Texas Veterans Land Board

State of Texas Veterans Bonds, Series 2016

$108,390,000 of principal outstanding at the end of fiscal year 2025.

Terms

Par amount
$250,000,000
Final maturity
12/1/2046
New money / refunding
New money $250,000,000Refunding Not reported
Closing date
1/21/2016
Purpose
Housing land
Sale
Negotiated
Pledge
Tax supported
Fiscal year issued
2016
Program
VLB Land and Housing Bonds

Changes in BRB's data

No changes since this site began recording on October 6, 2026.

Source: BRB data loads; as of 10/18/2026.

Finance team

Download CSV
Firms and fees reported for this issue, by role
Role?Firm?Fees paid?
Financial advisor George K Baum & Co $87,500
Bond counsel Bracewell LLP $125,000
Bond counsel Lannen & Oliver PC $30,365
Underwriter's counsel Andrews & Kurth LLP $25,000
Paid by the underwriter
Underwriter's counsel Mahomes Bolden & Warren PC $5,000
Paid by the underwriter
Rating agency Moodys $20,000
Rating agency S&P No amount reported
Printing, disclosure and data services Financial Printing Resources Inc $1,124
Other costs Juergen Necker No amount reported
Other costs King & Spalding LLP No amount reported

From the costs of issuance reported to BRB. A firm that was not paid a reported fee is not listed.

Debt outstanding by fiscal year

Fiscal years 2016 to 2025

Download CSV
  • Principal
  • Interest
Principal and interest outstanding at each fiscal year end
Principal, interest and debt service outstanding at each reporting date
Fiscal year?Period?Principal?Interest?Total debt service?
Fiscal year2025PeriodYear endPrincipal$108,390,000Interest$12,313,646Total debt service$120,703,646
Fiscal year2025PeriodPeriod 1Principal$114,655,000Interest$13,210,248Total debt service$127,865,248
Fiscal year2024PeriodYear endPrincipal$121,220,000Interest$14,158,188Total debt service$135,378,188
Fiscal year2024PeriodPeriod 1Principal$128,100,000Interest$15,159,930Total debt service$143,259,930
Fiscal year2023PeriodYear endPrincipal$135,305,000Interest$16,218,015Total debt service$151,523,015
Fiscal year2023PeriodPeriod 1Principal$142,850,000Interest$17,335,102Total debt service$160,185,102
Fiscal year2022PeriodYear endPrincipal$150,750,000Interest$18,513,967Total debt service$169,263,967
Fiscal year2022PeriodPeriod 1Principal$159,025,000Interest$19,757,543Total debt service$178,782,543
Fiscal year2021PeriodYear endPrincipal$167,685,000Interest$21,068,840Total debt service$188,753,840
Fiscal year2021PeriodPeriod 1Principal$176,750,000Interest$22,451,025Total debt service$199,201,025
Fiscal year2020PeriodYear endPrincipal$186,240,000Interest$23,907,421Total debt service$210,147,421
Fiscal year2020PeriodPeriod 1Principal$196,170,000Interest$25,441,471Total debt service$221,611,471
Fiscal year2019PeriodYear endPrincipal$206,560,000Interest$27,056,770Total debt service$233,616,770
Fiscal year2019PeriodPeriod 1Principal$217,175,000Interest$28,755,078Total debt service$245,930,078
Fiscal year2018PeriodYear endPrincipal$227,090,000Interest$30,530,922Total debt service$257,620,922
Fiscal year2018PeriodPeriod 1Principal$235,560,000Interest$32,373,001Total debt service$267,933,001
Fiscal year2017PeriodYear endPrincipal$242,375,000Interest$34,268,374Total debt service$276,643,374
Fiscal year2017PeriodPeriod 1Principal$247,370,000Interest$36,202,807Total debt service$283,572,807
Fiscal year2016PeriodYear endPrincipal$249,705,000Interest$38,155,500Total debt service$287,860,500
Fiscal year2016PeriodPeriod 1Principal$250,000,000Interest$40,110,500Total debt service$290,110,500

State issues are reported twice each fiscal year. "Year end" is the balance at the end of the fiscal year (reporting period 2), which the chart and the totals on this site use; "Period 1" is the earlier report in the same year. Where BRB reports a year end in more than one row, the chart and the totals add them.

Costs of issuance

Download CSV

One-time costs to the issuer: $334,989, or $1.34 per $1,000 of par.

Shown below but not added: $30,000 paid by the underwriter.

3 rows report no amount.

Each cost of issuance by role, who was paid and how much, with each role's subtotal of the issuer's one-time costs
Cost?Paid to?Type?Amount?Per $1,000?
CostBond counsel 2 fees46.4% of the issuer's costsSubtotal $155,365Per $1,000$0.62
Similar issues: median $0.62 per $1,000
CostBond counselPaid toBracewell LLPTypeOne timeAmount$125,000.00Per $1,000$0.50
CostCo-bond counselPaid toLannen & Oliver PCTypeOne timeAmount$30,365.00Per $1,000$0.12
CostFinancial advisor 1 fee26.1% of the issuer's costsSubtotal $87,500Per $1,000$0.35
Similar issues: median $0.35 per $1,000
CostFinancial advisorPaid toGeorge K Baum & CoTypeOne timeAmount$87,500.00Per $1,000$0.35
CostUnderwriter 1 fee11.0% of the issuer's costsSubtotal $37,000Per $1,000$0.15
Similar issues: median $3.43 per $1,000
CostUnderwriter's spread: expensesPaid toNot reportedTypeOne timeAmount$37,000.00Per $1,000$0.15
CostUnderwriter's counsel 2 feesSubtotal $30,000Per $1,000Not added
CostCo-underwriter's counsel
Counted as: Paid by the underwriter: shown, not added
Paid toMahomes Bolden & Warren PCTypeOne timeAmount$5,000.00Per $1,000$0.02
CostUnderwriter's counsel
Counted as: Paid by the underwriter: shown, not added
Paid toAndrews & Kurth LLPTypeOne timeAmount$25,000.00Per $1,000$0.10
CostRating agency 2 fees6.0% of the issuer's costsSubtotal $20,000Per $1,000$0.08
Similar issues: median $0.34 per $1,000
CostRating agencyPaid toMoodysTypeOne timeAmount$20,000.00Per $1,000$0.08
CostRating agencyPaid toS&PTypeOne timeAmountNot reportedPer $1,000Not reported
CostOther 5 fees10.5% of the issuer's costsSubtotal $35,124Per $1,000$0.14
Similar issues: median $0.13 per $1,000
CostAttorney General reviewPaid toNot reportedTypeOne timeAmount$9,500.00Per $1,000$0.04
CostLiquidity provider counselPaid toKing & Spalding LLPTypeOne timeAmountNot reportedPer $1,000Not reported
CostLiquidity provider foreign counselPaid toJuergen NeckerTypeOne timeAmountNot reportedPer $1,000Not reported
CostOther costsPaid toNot reportedTypeOne timeAmount$24,500.00Per $1,000$0.10
CostPrintingPaid toFinancial Printing Resources IncTypeOne timeAmount$1,124.00Per $1,000Under $0.01
CostTotal, 13 feesAmount$364,989Per $1,000
CostCosts to the issuerAmount$334,989Per $1,000$1.34
Bond counsel 2 fees46.4%$155,365$0.62 per $1,000Similar issues: median $0.62 per $1,000
Financial advisor 1 fee26.1%$87,500$0.35 per $1,000Similar issues: median $0.35 per $1,000
Underwriter 1 fee11.0%$37,000$0.15 per $1,000Similar issues: median $3.43 per $1,000
Underwriter's counsel 2 fees$30,000Not added
  • Cost
    Co-underwriter's counsel
    Counted as: Paid by the underwriter: shown, not added
    Paid to
    Mahomes Bolden & Warren PC
    Type
    One time
    Amount
    $5,000.00
  • Cost
    Underwriter's counsel
    Counted as: Paid by the underwriter: shown, not added
    Paid to
    Andrews & Kurth LLP
    Type
    One time
    Amount
    $25,000.00
Rating agency 2 fees6.0%$20,000$0.08 per $1,000Similar issues: median $0.34 per $1,000
Other 5 fees10.5%$35,124$0.14 per $1,000Similar issues: median $0.13 per $1,000
Total, 13 fees
$364,989
Costs to the issuer
$334,989$1.34 per $1,000

Per $1,000 is computed here from each amount and the par. Subtotals and totals are rounded to the whole dollar.

How these costs are counted
  • Net spread counted once. Takedown, management fee, spread expenses and underwriting risk make up the underwriter's spread. Where an issue reports an amount for any of them, its row for the underwriter's net spread (the same spread as one figure) is shown as a cross-check and not added.
  • Paid by the underwriter: shown, not added to the issuer's costs. Rows BRB's table marks as paid by the underwriter (whether the underwriter paid the fee) are shown and count in the fees paid to that firm and role, but not in the issuer's one-time costs, per-$1,000 figures or medians.
  • The issuer's one-time costs add every other one-time row: not annual fees, not rows paid by the underwriter, not the cross-check. Per $1,000 of par divides them by the issue's par and multiplies by 1,000 (computed here).
  • Missing, zero and negative amounts. A row with no amount shows "Not reported" and is added to nothing. A reported $0 counts as $0, in sums and medians. A negative amount is added as reported; where a role's or firm's one-time costs on an issue come to less than $0, that issue is left out of the medians.
  • Similar issues. The median per $1,000 of par for that group across other issues by the same type of issuer, with the same pledge, sold the same way, a par half to twice this one's and a fiscal year within 3 years, shown when at least 5 report it.
  • Per $1,000 on each row is computed here from its amount and the par, not taken from BRB's rounded figure.

EMMA links are added as each issue is matched.

Source: State Issuance Fee By Year (updated by the publisher 8/27/2026); Debt Outstanding By Issuance State By Year (updated by the publisher 10/6/2026). Loaded here 10/18/2026.

Texas fiscal years run September 1 to August 31.

Issuer names are shown as published, without source footnote letters.

Figures are as reported to the agency and have not been independently verified.