This is a MuniPro demonstration of a redesigned Texas Bond Review Board website. It is not the official BRB site: nothing filed here reaches BRB, and the email addresses shown are BRB's own.

The official site is brb.texas.gov.

County · Debt explorer

Brazoria County

Print county brief1 page, fiscal year 2025

Brazoria County's 8 Independent School Districts owed $2.2 billion in principal outstanding at the end of fiscal year 2025, 14th of 245 counties and 3rd of 31. Figures as loaded 10/17/2026.

Showing Total principal outstanding for Independent School Districts, fiscal year 2025. How it is computed: principal outstanding at the fiscal year end, summed over the local governments attributed to the county; computed here from BRB's tables. Method.

Total principal outstanding
$2,222,735,000
Rank
14th of 245
Rank in its size band
3rd of 31
Population (county government's row)
413,224
Of which multi-county issuers
$0

Every bond issue in Brazoria County in the bond database

Debt by government type, fiscal year 2025

Download CSV
Principal outstanding by government type; the table below gives the figures.Independent School Districts: $2.2billion
Principal outstanding by government type
Type?Issuers?Principal outstanding?Share?
Independent School DistrictsIssuers8Principal outstanding$2,222,735,000Share100.0%
TotalIssuers8Principal outstanding$2,222,735,000Share100.0%

Scroll for more columns →

Principal outstanding by government type
Type?Issuers?Principal outstanding?Share?
Independent School DistrictsIssuers8Principal outstanding$2,222,735,000Share100.0%
TotalIssuers8Principal outstanding$2,222,735,000Share100.0%

Governments attributed to Brazoria County

Download CSV

Each counts here because Brazoria is the first county BRB lists for it. Per resident uses the government's own reported population, where it reports one.

Governments attributed to the county, fiscal year 2025. Select a column heading to sort by it.
Issuer ?Type ?Principal outstanding ?Per resident ?
Alvin ISDIndependent School Districts$1,061,460,000$8,876
Pearland ISDIndependent School Districts$362,520,000$2,838
Angleton ISDIndependent School Districts$313,010,000$6,518
Brazosport ISDIndependent School Districts$293,480,000$5,702
Columbia-Brazoria ISDIndependent School Districts$101,450,000$4,485
Sweeny ISDIndependent School Districts$73,680,000$6,076
Danbury ISDIndependent School Districts$16,355,000$3,615
Damon ISDIndependent School Districts$780,000$600

Scroll for more columns →

Governments attributed to the county, fiscal year 2025. Select a column heading to sort by it.
Issuer ?Type ?Principal outstanding ?Per resident ?
Alvin ISDIndependent School Districts$1,061,460,000$8,876
Pearland ISDIndependent School Districts$362,520,000$2,838
Angleton ISDIndependent School Districts$313,010,000$6,518
Brazosport ISDIndependent School Districts$293,480,000$5,702
Columbia-Brazoria ISDIndependent School Districts$101,450,000$4,485
Sweeny ISDIndependent School Districts$73,680,000$6,076
Danbury ISDIndependent School Districts$16,355,000$3,615
Damon ISDIndependent School Districts$780,000$600
  1. Alvin ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $1,061,460,000Per resident: $8,876
  2. Pearland ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $362,520,000Per resident: $2,838
  3. Angleton ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $313,010,000Per resident: $6,518
  4. Brazosport ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $293,480,000Per resident: $5,702
  5. Columbia-Brazoria ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $101,450,000Per resident: $4,485
  6. Sweeny ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $73,680,000Per resident: $6,076
  7. Danbury ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $16,355,000Per resident: $3,615
  8. Damon ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $780,000Per resident: $600

Rows 1–8 of 8

Skip the governments table

Also serve Brazoria County

No issuer counted in another county lists Brazoria County.

Over the years

Download CSV
Principal outstanding at each fiscal year end; the table below gives the figures.$1.3billion2016$1.4billion2017$1.4billion2018$1.7billion2019$1.9billion2020$2.0billion2021$2.0billion2022$2.0billion2023$2.1billion2024$2.2billion2025
2016: $1.3 billion; 2025: $2.2 billion
Principal outstanding, issuers and population at each fiscal year end
Fiscal year?Principal outstanding?Issuers?Population?
Fiscal year2025Principal outstanding$2,222,735,000Issuers8Population413,224
Fiscal year2024Principal outstanding$2,115,875,000Issuers8Population398,938
Fiscal year2023Principal outstanding$1,990,025,000Issuers8Population388,181
Fiscal year2022Principal outstanding$1,987,420,000Issuers8Population379,689
Fiscal year2021Principal outstanding$1,951,390,000Issuers8Population372,031
Fiscal year2020Principal outstanding$1,931,581,924Issuers8Population374,264
Fiscal year2019Principal outstanding$1,699,638,861Issuers8Population370,200
Fiscal year2018Principal outstanding$1,449,625,800Issuers8Population362,457
Fiscal year2017Principal outstanding$1,440,407,214Issuers8Population354,195
Fiscal year2016Principal outstanding$1,304,767,153Issuers8Population346,312

Scroll for more columns →

Principal outstanding, issuers and population at each fiscal year end
Fiscal year?Principal outstanding?Issuers?Population?
Fiscal year2025Principal outstanding$2,222,735,000Issuers8Population413,224
Fiscal year2024Principal outstanding$2,115,875,000Issuers8Population398,938
Fiscal year2023Principal outstanding$1,990,025,000Issuers8Population388,181
Fiscal year2022Principal outstanding$1,987,420,000Issuers8Population379,689
Fiscal year2021Principal outstanding$1,951,390,000Issuers8Population372,031
Fiscal year2020Principal outstanding$1,931,581,924Issuers8Population374,264
Fiscal year2019Principal outstanding$1,699,638,861Issuers8Population370,200
Fiscal year2018Principal outstanding$1,449,625,800Issuers8Population362,457
Fiscal year2017Principal outstanding$1,440,407,214Issuers8Population354,195
Fiscal year2016Principal outstanding$1,304,767,153Issuers8Population346,312

How these figures are made

Total principal outstanding

principal outstanding at the fiscal year end, summed over the local governments attributed to the county; computed here from BRB's tables for fiscal year 2025. It has no denominator.

Which governments count here

BRB's County field lists every county an issuer serves and gives no shares. An issuer's debt counts in its home county, the first county listed for it, so each dollar counts once statewide. Issuers that list Brazoria County but count in another are under "Also serve Brazoria County". Per resident in the issuer list uses each government's own reported population, where it reports one.

Not reported means no government of the chosen type in the county reported the amount that year, or the denominator was not reported. It is never shown as zero.

Fiscal years: Texas fiscal years run September 1 to August 31. Local governments report at the end of their own fiscal year, as BRB's tables do.

The full method, with the class breaks and the size bands, is on the explorer's main page. Sources are listed below.

EMMA links are added as each issue is matched.

Source: Local Issuance Fee By Year (updated by the publisher 10/6/2026); Debt Outstanding By Issuance Local By Year (updated by the publisher 9/9/2026). Loaded here 10/17/2026.

Texas fiscal years run September 1 to August 31.

Issuer names are shown as published, without source footnote letters.

Figures are as reported to the agency and have not been independently verified.