This is a MuniPro demonstration of a redesigned Texas Bond Review Board website. It is not the official BRB site: nothing filed here reaches BRB, and the email addresses shown are BRB's own.

The official site is brb.texas.gov.

County · Debt explorer

Brown County

Print county brief1 page, fiscal year 2025

Brown County's 14 local governments owed $162.7 million in principal outstanding at the end of fiscal year 2025, 93rd of 252 counties and 12th of 53. Figures as loaded 10/17/2026.

Showing Total principal outstanding for all local governments, fiscal year 2025. How it is computed: principal outstanding at the fiscal year end, summed over the local governments attributed to the county; computed here from BRB's tables. Method.

Total principal outstanding
$162,700,000
Rank
93rd of 252
Rank in its size band
12th of 53
Population (county government's row)
38,631
Of which multi-county issuers
$0

Every bond issue in Brown County in the bond database

Debt by government type, fiscal year 2025

Download CSV
Principal outstanding by government type; the table below gives the figures.Cities: $56.9 millionCounties: $4.4 millionWater Districts: $12.7 millionIndependent School Districts: $84.5millionOther Special Districts: $4.2million

Governments attributed to Brown County

Download CSV

Each counts here because Brown is the first county BRB lists for it. Per resident uses the government's own reported population, where it reports one.

Governments attributed to the county, fiscal year 2025. Select a column heading to sort by it.
Issuer ?Type ?Principal outstanding ?Per resident ?
Brownwood ISDIndependent School Districts$62,690,000$3,119
BrownwoodCities$37,835,000$2,016
EarlyCities$15,915,000$5,014
Early ISDIndependent School Districts$13,525,000$2,955
Brookesmith Special UDWater Districts$8,929,000Not reported
Bangs ISDIndependent School Districts$4,530,000$804
Brown CountyCounties$4,410,000$114
Brownwood Municipal Development DistrictOther Special Districts$4,215,000$232
Brown County WID 1Water Districts$3,795,000Not reported
Zephyr ISDIndependent School Districts$2,929,000$3,529
BangsCities$2,090,000$1,362
BlanketCities$1,040,000$2,889
Blanket ISDIndependent School Districts$420,000$487
May ISDIndependent School Districts$377,000$167

Scroll for more columns →

Governments attributed to the county, fiscal year 2025. Select a column heading to sort by it.
Issuer ?Type ?Principal outstanding ?Per resident ?
Brownwood ISDIndependent School Districts$62,690,000$3,119
BrownwoodCities$37,835,000$2,016
EarlyCities$15,915,000$5,014
Early ISDIndependent School Districts$13,525,000$2,955
Brookesmith Special UDWater Districts$8,929,000Not reported
Bangs ISDIndependent School Districts$4,530,000$804
Brown CountyCounties$4,410,000$114
Brownwood Municipal Development DistrictOther Special Districts$4,215,000$232
Brown County WID 1Water Districts$3,795,000Not reported
Zephyr ISDIndependent School Districts$2,929,000$3,529
BangsCities$2,090,000$1,362
BlanketCities$1,040,000$2,889
Blanket ISDIndependent School Districts$420,000$487
May ISDIndependent School Districts$377,000$167
  1. Brownwood ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $62,690,000Per resident: $3,119
  2. BrownwoodCitiesPrincipal $37,835,000Per resident: $2,016
  3. EarlyCitiesPrincipal $15,915,000Per resident: $5,014
  4. Early ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $13,525,000Per resident: $2,955
  5. Brookesmith Special UDWater DistrictsPrincipal $8,929,000Per resident: Not reported
  6. Bangs ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $4,530,000Per resident: $804
  7. Brown CountyCountiesPrincipal $4,410,000Per resident: $114
  8. Brownwood Municipal Development DistrictOther Special DistrictsPrincipal $4,215,000Per resident: $232
  9. Brown County WID 1Water DistrictsPrincipal $3,795,000Per resident: Not reported
  10. Zephyr ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $2,929,000Per resident: $3,529
  11. BangsCitiesPrincipal $2,090,000Per resident: $1,362
  12. BlanketCitiesPrincipal $1,040,000Per resident: $2,889
  13. Blanket ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $420,000Per resident: $487
  14. May ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $377,000Per resident: $167

Rows 1–14 of 14

Skip the governments table

Also serve Brown County

Download CSV

These 1 issuer list Brown County but count in another county, the first one listed for each:

Issuers that list this county but count in another
Issuer?Type?Counted in?Principal outstanding?
Brazos RAWater DistrictsWilliamson$84,630,000

Scroll for more columns →

Issuers that list this county but count in another
Issuer?Type?Counted in?Principal outstanding?
Brazos RAWater DistrictsWilliamson$84,630,000

Over the years

Download CSV
Principal outstanding at each fiscal year end; the table below gives the figures.$146.2million2016$139.5million2017$130.6million2018$123.2million2019$114.6million2020$106.9million2021$102.6million2022$160.4million2023$150.4million2024$162.7million2025
2016: $146.2 million; 2025: $162.7 million
Principal outstanding, issuers and population at each fiscal year end
Fiscal year?Principal outstanding?Issuers?Population?
Fiscal year2025Principal outstanding$162,700,000Issuers14Population38,631
Fiscal year2024Principal outstanding$150,400,000Issuers15Population38,709
Fiscal year2023Principal outstanding$160,390,586Issuers15Population38,373
Fiscal year2022Principal outstanding$102,630,586Issuers15Population38,192
Fiscal year2021Principal outstanding$106,942,059Issuers14Population38,095
Fiscal year2020Principal outstanding$114,645,665Issuers14Population37,864
Fiscal year2019Principal outstanding$123,161,236Issuers14Population37,924
Fiscal year2018Principal outstanding$130,627,995Issuers14Population38,053
Fiscal year2017Principal outstanding$139,510,995Issuers14Population38,271
Fiscal year2016Principal outstanding$146,201,995Issuers14Population37,896

Scroll for more columns →

Principal outstanding, issuers and population at each fiscal year end
Fiscal year?Principal outstanding?Issuers?Population?
Fiscal year2025Principal outstanding$162,700,000Issuers14Population38,631
Fiscal year2024Principal outstanding$150,400,000Issuers15Population38,709
Fiscal year2023Principal outstanding$160,390,586Issuers15Population38,373
Fiscal year2022Principal outstanding$102,630,586Issuers15Population38,192
Fiscal year2021Principal outstanding$106,942,059Issuers14Population38,095
Fiscal year2020Principal outstanding$114,645,665Issuers14Population37,864
Fiscal year2019Principal outstanding$123,161,236Issuers14Population37,924
Fiscal year2018Principal outstanding$130,627,995Issuers14Population38,053
Fiscal year2017Principal outstanding$139,510,995Issuers14Population38,271
Fiscal year2016Principal outstanding$146,201,995Issuers14Population37,896

How these figures are made

Total principal outstanding

principal outstanding at the fiscal year end, summed over the local governments attributed to the county; computed here from BRB's tables for fiscal year 2025. It has no denominator.

Which governments count here

BRB's County field lists every county an issuer serves and gives no shares. An issuer's debt counts in its home county, the first county listed for it, so each dollar counts once statewide. Issuers that list Brown County but count in another are under "Also serve Brown County". Per resident in the issuer list uses each government's own reported population, where it reports one.

Not reported means no government of the chosen type in the county reported the amount that year, or the denominator was not reported. It is never shown as zero.

Fiscal years: Texas fiscal years run September 1 to August 31. Local governments report at the end of their own fiscal year, as BRB's tables do.

The full method, with the class breaks and the size bands, is on the explorer's main page. Sources are listed below.

EMMA links are added as each issue is matched.

Source: Local Issuance Fee By Year (updated by the publisher 10/6/2026); Debt Outstanding By Issuance Local By Year (updated by the publisher 9/9/2026). Loaded here 10/17/2026.

Texas fiscal years run September 1 to August 31.

Issuer names are shown as published, without source footnote letters.

Figures are as reported to the agency and have not been independently verified.