This is a MuniPro demonstration of a redesigned Texas Bond Review Board website. It is not the official BRB site: nothing filed here reaches BRB, and the email addresses shown are BRB's own.

The official site is brb.texas.gov.

County · Debt explorer

Chambers County

Print county brief1 page, fiscal year 2025

Chambers County's 16 local governments owed $1.5 billion in principal outstanding at the end of fiscal year 2025, 34th of 252 counties and 2nd of 26. Of that, $118.7 million is owed by 2 issuers that also serve other counties. Figures as loaded 10/17/2026.

Showing Total principal outstanding for all local governments, fiscal year 2025. How it is computed: principal outstanding at the fiscal year end, summed over the local governments attributed to the county; computed here from BRB's tables. Method.

Total principal outstanding
$1,489,617,000
Rank
34th of 252
Rank in its size band
2nd of 26
Population (county government's row)
56,179
Of which multi-county issuers
$118,720,000

Every bond issue in Chambers County in the bond database

Debt by government type, fiscal year 2025

Download CSV
Principal outstanding by government type; the table below gives the figures.Cities: $132.4 millionCounties: $169.3 millionWater Districts: $540.3 millionIndependent School Districts: $647.7million

Governments attributed to Chambers County

Download CSV

Each counts here because Chambers is the first county BRB lists for it. Per resident uses the government's own reported population, where it reports one.

Governments attributed to the county, fiscal year 2025. Select a column heading to sort by it.
Issuer ?Type ?Principal outstanding ?Per resident ?
Barbers Hill ISDIndependent School Districts$566,885,000$22,451
Cedar Port Navigation & IDWater Districts$308,745,000$1,130,934
Chambers CountyCounties$169,280,000$3,013
Mont Belvieu
also lists Liberty
Cities$115,790,000$11,320
Chambers County ID 2Water Districts$76,670,000Not reported
Gulf Coast AuthWater Districts$69,820,000Not reported
Anahuac ISDIndependent School Districts$61,220,000$6,536
Chambers County MUD 1Water Districts$27,585,000$3,379
Cedar Bayou NDWater Districts$26,800,000Not reported
East Chambers ISDIndependent School Districts$19,580,000$2,510
AnahuacCities$16,602,000$8,207
Chambers County ID 3Water Districts$13,690,000$171,125
Riceland MUD 1Water Districts$5,670,000$162,000
Riceland Management DistrictWater Districts$4,245,000$121,286
Chambers County MUD 3Water Districts$4,105,000$16,963
Trinity Bay CD
also lists Jefferson
Water Districts$2,930,000$240

Scroll for more columns →

Governments attributed to the county, fiscal year 2025. Select a column heading to sort by it.
Issuer ?Type ?Principal outstanding ?Per resident ?
Barbers Hill ISDIndependent School Districts$566,885,000$22,451
Cedar Port Navigation & IDWater Districts$308,745,000$1,130,934
Chambers CountyCounties$169,280,000$3,013
Mont Belvieu
also lists Liberty
Cities$115,790,000$11,320
Chambers County ID 2Water Districts$76,670,000Not reported
Gulf Coast AuthWater Districts$69,820,000Not reported
Anahuac ISDIndependent School Districts$61,220,000$6,536
Chambers County MUD 1Water Districts$27,585,000$3,379
Cedar Bayou NDWater Districts$26,800,000Not reported
East Chambers ISDIndependent School Districts$19,580,000$2,510
AnahuacCities$16,602,000$8,207
Chambers County ID 3Water Districts$13,690,000$171,125
Riceland MUD 1Water Districts$5,670,000$162,000
Riceland Management DistrictWater Districts$4,245,000$121,286
Chambers County MUD 3Water Districts$4,105,000$16,963
Trinity Bay CD
also lists Jefferson
Water Districts$2,930,000$240
  1. Barbers Hill ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $566,885,000Per resident: $22,451
  2. Cedar Port Navigation & IDWater DistrictsPrincipal $308,745,000Per resident: $1,130,934
  3. Chambers CountyCountiesPrincipal $169,280,000Per resident: $3,013
  4. Mont BelvieuCities; also lists LibertyPrincipal $115,790,000Per resident: $11,320
  5. Chambers County ID 2Water DistrictsPrincipal $76,670,000Per resident: Not reported
  6. Gulf Coast AuthWater DistrictsPrincipal $69,820,000Per resident: Not reported
  7. Anahuac ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $61,220,000Per resident: $6,536
  8. Chambers County MUD 1Water DistrictsPrincipal $27,585,000Per resident: $3,379
  9. Cedar Bayou NDWater DistrictsPrincipal $26,800,000Per resident: Not reported
  10. East Chambers ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $19,580,000Per resident: $2,510
  11. AnahuacCitiesPrincipal $16,602,000Per resident: $8,207
  12. Chambers County ID 3Water DistrictsPrincipal $13,690,000Per resident: $171,125
  13. Riceland MUD 1Water DistrictsPrincipal $5,670,000Per resident: $162,000
  14. Riceland Management DistrictWater DistrictsPrincipal $4,245,000Per resident: $121,286
  15. Chambers County MUD 3Water DistrictsPrincipal $4,105,000Per resident: $16,963
  16. Trinity Bay CDWater Districts; also lists JeffersonPrincipal $2,930,000Per resident: $240

Rows 1–16 of 16

Skip the governments table

Also serve Chambers County

Download CSV

$118,720,000 of this county's $1,489,617,000 (8%) is owed by 2 issuers attributed here that list other counties too. These 2 issuers list Chambers County but count in another county, the first one listed for each:

Issuers that list this county but count in another
Issuer?Type?Counted in?Principal outstanding?
Goose Creek CISDIndependent School DistrictsHarris$573,205,572
Lee College DistrictCommunity & Junior College DistrictsHarris$36,420,000

Scroll for more columns →

Issuers that list this county but count in another
Issuer?Type?Counted in?Principal outstanding?
Goose Creek CISDIndependent School DistrictsHarris$573,205,572
Lee College DistrictCommunity & Junior College DistrictsHarris$36,420,000

Over the years

Download CSV
Principal outstanding at each fiscal year end; the table below gives the figures.$480.9million2016$560.3million2017$643.2million2018$650.6million2019$794.4million2020$898.2million2021$1.1billion2022$1.1billion2023$1.2billion2024$1.5billion2025
2016: $480.9 million; 2025: $1.5 billion
Principal outstanding, issuers and population at each fiscal year end
Fiscal year?Principal outstanding?Issuers?Population?
Fiscal year2025Principal outstanding$1,489,617,000Issuers16Population56,179
Fiscal year2024Principal outstanding$1,211,847,000Issuers13Population53,876
Fiscal year2023Principal outstanding$1,101,732,000Issuers12Population51,288
Fiscal year2022Principal outstanding$1,053,123,000Issuers12Population48,865
Fiscal year2021Principal outstanding$898,205,900Issuers12Population46,571
Fiscal year2020Principal outstanding$794,449,900Issuers11Population43,837
Fiscal year2019Principal outstanding$650,598,000Issuers11Population42,454
Fiscal year2018Principal outstanding$643,242,000Issuers11Population41,441
Fiscal year2017Principal outstanding$560,273,529Issuers12Population39,899
Fiscal year2016Principal outstanding$480,946,233Issuers11Population38,863

Scroll for more columns →

Principal outstanding, issuers and population at each fiscal year end
Fiscal year?Principal outstanding?Issuers?Population?
Fiscal year2025Principal outstanding$1,489,617,000Issuers16Population56,179
Fiscal year2024Principal outstanding$1,211,847,000Issuers13Population53,876
Fiscal year2023Principal outstanding$1,101,732,000Issuers12Population51,288
Fiscal year2022Principal outstanding$1,053,123,000Issuers12Population48,865
Fiscal year2021Principal outstanding$898,205,900Issuers12Population46,571
Fiscal year2020Principal outstanding$794,449,900Issuers11Population43,837
Fiscal year2019Principal outstanding$650,598,000Issuers11Population42,454
Fiscal year2018Principal outstanding$643,242,000Issuers11Population41,441
Fiscal year2017Principal outstanding$560,273,529Issuers12Population39,899
Fiscal year2016Principal outstanding$480,946,233Issuers11Population38,863

How these figures are made

Total principal outstanding

principal outstanding at the fiscal year end, summed over the local governments attributed to the county; computed here from BRB's tables for fiscal year 2025. It has no denominator.

Which governments count here

BRB's County field lists every county an issuer serves and gives no shares. An issuer's debt counts in its home county, the first county listed for it, so each dollar counts once statewide. Of Chambers County's $1,489,617,000, $118,720,000 is owed by issuers that list other counties too. Issuers that list Chambers County but count in another are under "Also serve Chambers County". Per resident in the issuer list uses each government's own reported population, where it reports one.

Not reported means no government of the chosen type in the county reported the amount that year, or the denominator was not reported. It is never shown as zero.

Fiscal years: Texas fiscal years run September 1 to August 31. Local governments report at the end of their own fiscal year, as BRB's tables do.

The full method, with the class breaks and the size bands, is on the explorer's main page. Sources are listed below.

EMMA links are added as each issue is matched.

Source: Local Issuance Fee By Year (updated by the publisher 10/6/2026); Debt Outstanding By Issuance Local By Year (updated by the publisher 9/9/2026). Loaded here 10/17/2026.

Texas fiscal years run September 1 to August 31.

Issuer names are shown as published, without source footnote letters.

Figures are as reported to the agency and have not been independently verified.