This is a MuniPro demonstration of a redesigned Texas Bond Review Board website. It is not the official BRB site: nothing filed here reaches BRB, and the email addresses shown are BRB's own.

The official site is brb.texas.gov.

County · Debt explorer

Ellis County

Print county brief1 page, fiscal year 2025

Ellis County's 26 local governments owed $2.3 billion in principal outstanding at the end of fiscal year 2025, 26th of 252 counties and 14th of 31. Of that, $1.4 million is owed by 1 issuer that also serves other counties. Figures as loaded 10/17/2026.

Showing Total principal outstanding for all local governments, fiscal year 2025. How it is computed: principal outstanding at the fiscal year end, summed over the local governments attributed to the county; computed here from BRB's tables. Method.

Total principal outstanding
$2,276,811,681
Rank
26th of 252
Rank in its size band
14th of 31
Population (county government's row)
232,387
Of which multi-county issuers
$1,405,000

Every bond issue in Ellis County in the bond database

Debt by government type, fiscal year 2025

Download CSV
Principal outstanding by government type; the table below gives the figures.Cities: $638.9 millionCounties: $21.3 millionWater Districts: $89.3 millionIndependent School Districts: $1.5billion

Governments attributed to Ellis County

Download CSV

Each counts here because Ellis is the first county BRB lists for it. Per resident uses the government's own reported population, where it reports one.

Governments attributed to the county, fiscal year 2025. Select a column heading to sort by it.
Issuer ?Type ?Principal outstanding ?Per resident ?
Waxahachie ISDIndependent School Districts$678,220,981$10,974
Midlothian ISDIndependent School Districts$333,690,000$5,999
Red Oak ISDIndependent School Districts$320,500,000$9,066
WaxahachieCities$246,530,000$5,071
MidlothianCities$171,804,022$3,895
EnnisCities$122,434,000$4,946
Ferris ISDIndependent School Districts$73,043,059$5,185
Red OakCities$72,159,000$3,726
Ennis ISDIndependent School Districts$55,239,619$1,738
Maypearl ISDIndependent School Districts$41,005,000$6,510
Ellis County FWSD 1Water Districts$33,665,000$18,713
Ellis CountyCounties$21,260,000$91
Buena Vista-Bethel Special UDWater Districts$19,580,000$1,572
FerrisCities$18,277,000$4,352
Palmer ISDIndependent School Districts$14,430,000$2,424
Midlothian MMD 2Water Districts$13,780,000$25,902
Rockett Special UDWater Districts$11,065,000$57
Italy ISDIndependent School Districts$10,795,000$4,854
Midlothian MMD 3Water Districts$5,105,000$8,623
Ellis County MUD 1BWater Districts$4,700,000$8,545
ItalyCities$3,399,000$1,596
PalmerCities$1,735,000$662
OvillaCities$1,565,000$328
Mountain Peak Special UD
also lists Johnson
Water Districts$1,405,000$312
MaypearlCities$975,000$1,004
Avalon ISDIndependent School Districts$450,000$434

Scroll for more columns →

Governments attributed to the county, fiscal year 2025. Select a column heading to sort by it.
Issuer ?Type ?Principal outstanding ?Per resident ?
Waxahachie ISDIndependent School Districts$678,220,981$10,974
Midlothian ISDIndependent School Districts$333,690,000$5,999
Red Oak ISDIndependent School Districts$320,500,000$9,066
WaxahachieCities$246,530,000$5,071
MidlothianCities$171,804,022$3,895
EnnisCities$122,434,000$4,946
Ferris ISDIndependent School Districts$73,043,059$5,185
Red OakCities$72,159,000$3,726
Ennis ISDIndependent School Districts$55,239,619$1,738
Maypearl ISDIndependent School Districts$41,005,000$6,510
Ellis County FWSD 1Water Districts$33,665,000$18,713
Ellis CountyCounties$21,260,000$91
Buena Vista-Bethel Special UDWater Districts$19,580,000$1,572
FerrisCities$18,277,000$4,352
Palmer ISDIndependent School Districts$14,430,000$2,424
Midlothian MMD 2Water Districts$13,780,000$25,902
Rockett Special UDWater Districts$11,065,000$57
Italy ISDIndependent School Districts$10,795,000$4,854
Midlothian MMD 3Water Districts$5,105,000$8,623
Ellis County MUD 1BWater Districts$4,700,000$8,545
ItalyCities$3,399,000$1,596
PalmerCities$1,735,000$662
OvillaCities$1,565,000$328
Mountain Peak Special UD
also lists Johnson
Water Districts$1,405,000$312
MaypearlCities$975,000$1,004
Avalon ISDIndependent School Districts$450,000$434
  1. Waxahachie ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $678,220,981Per resident: $10,974
  2. Midlothian ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $333,690,000Per resident: $5,999
  3. Red Oak ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $320,500,000Per resident: $9,066
  4. WaxahachieCitiesPrincipal $246,530,000Per resident: $5,071
  5. MidlothianCitiesPrincipal $171,804,022Per resident: $3,895
  6. EnnisCitiesPrincipal $122,434,000Per resident: $4,946
  7. Ferris ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $73,043,059Per resident: $5,185
  8. Red OakCitiesPrincipal $72,159,000Per resident: $3,726
  9. Ennis ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $55,239,619Per resident: $1,738
  10. Maypearl ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $41,005,000Per resident: $6,510
  11. Ellis County FWSD 1Water DistrictsPrincipal $33,665,000Per resident: $18,713
  12. Ellis CountyCountiesPrincipal $21,260,000Per resident: $91
  13. Buena Vista-Bethel Special UDWater DistrictsPrincipal $19,580,000Per resident: $1,572
  14. FerrisCitiesPrincipal $18,277,000Per resident: $4,352
  15. Palmer ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $14,430,000Per resident: $2,424
  16. Midlothian MMD 2Water DistrictsPrincipal $13,780,000Per resident: $25,902
  17. Rockett Special UDWater DistrictsPrincipal $11,065,000Per resident: $57
  18. Italy ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $10,795,000Per resident: $4,854
  19. Midlothian MMD 3Water DistrictsPrincipal $5,105,000Per resident: $8,623
  20. Ellis County MUD 1BWater DistrictsPrincipal $4,700,000Per resident: $8,545
  21. ItalyCitiesPrincipal $3,399,000Per resident: $1,596
  22. PalmerCitiesPrincipal $1,735,000Per resident: $662
  23. OvillaCitiesPrincipal $1,565,000Per resident: $328
  24. Mountain Peak Special UDWater Districts; also lists JohnsonPrincipal $1,405,000Per resident: $312
  25. MaypearlCitiesPrincipal $975,000Per resident: $1,004
  26. Avalon ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $450,000Per resident: $434

Rows 1–26 of 26

Skip the governments table

Also serve Ellis County

Download CSV

$1,405,000 of this county's $2,276,811,681 (0%) is owed by 1 issuer attributed here that lists other counties too. These 2 issuers list Ellis County but count in another county, the first one listed for each:

Issuers that list this county but count in another
Issuer?Type?Counted in?Principal outstanding?
Cedar HillCitiesDallas$123,690,000
Johnson County Special UDWater DistrictsJohnson$28,612,000

Scroll for more columns →

Issuers that list this county but count in another
Issuer?Type?Counted in?Principal outstanding?
Cedar HillCitiesDallas$123,690,000
Johnson County Special UDWater DistrictsJohnson$28,612,000

Over the years

Download CSV
Principal outstanding at each fiscal year end; the table below gives the figures.$1.2billion2016$1.2billion2017$1.2billion2018$1.3billion2019$1.4billion2020$1.4billion2021$1.4billion2022$1.8billion2023$2.0billion2024$2.3billion2025
2016: $1.2 billion; 2025: $2.3 billion
Principal outstanding, issuers and population at each fiscal year end
Fiscal year?Principal outstanding?Issuers?Population?
Fiscal year2025Principal outstanding$2,276,811,681Issuers26Population232,387
Fiscal year2024Principal outstanding$1,960,190,727Issuers24Population222,829
Fiscal year2023Principal outstanding$1,766,236,173Issuers24Population212,182
Fiscal year2022Principal outstanding$1,436,781,899Issuers24Population202,678
Fiscal year2021Principal outstanding$1,392,380,860Issuers23Population192,455
Fiscal year2020Principal outstanding$1,411,117,403Issuers23Population184,826
Fiscal year2019Principal outstanding$1,292,539,652Issuers23Population179,436
Fiscal year2018Principal outstanding$1,241,898,059Issuers23Population173,620
Fiscal year2017Principal outstanding$1,190,458,726Issuers23Population168,499
Fiscal year2016Principal outstanding$1,157,941,972Issuers22Population163,632

Scroll for more columns →

Principal outstanding, issuers and population at each fiscal year end
Fiscal year?Principal outstanding?Issuers?Population?
Fiscal year2025Principal outstanding$2,276,811,681Issuers26Population232,387
Fiscal year2024Principal outstanding$1,960,190,727Issuers24Population222,829
Fiscal year2023Principal outstanding$1,766,236,173Issuers24Population212,182
Fiscal year2022Principal outstanding$1,436,781,899Issuers24Population202,678
Fiscal year2021Principal outstanding$1,392,380,860Issuers23Population192,455
Fiscal year2020Principal outstanding$1,411,117,403Issuers23Population184,826
Fiscal year2019Principal outstanding$1,292,539,652Issuers23Population179,436
Fiscal year2018Principal outstanding$1,241,898,059Issuers23Population173,620
Fiscal year2017Principal outstanding$1,190,458,726Issuers23Population168,499
Fiscal year2016Principal outstanding$1,157,941,972Issuers22Population163,632

How these figures are made

Total principal outstanding

principal outstanding at the fiscal year end, summed over the local governments attributed to the county; computed here from BRB's tables for fiscal year 2025. It has no denominator.

Which governments count here

BRB's County field lists every county an issuer serves and gives no shares. An issuer's debt counts in its home county, the first county listed for it, so each dollar counts once statewide. Of Ellis County's $2,276,811,681, $1,405,000 is owed by issuers that list other counties too. Issuers that list Ellis County but count in another are under "Also serve Ellis County". Per resident in the issuer list uses each government's own reported population, where it reports one.

Not reported means no government of the chosen type in the county reported the amount that year, or the denominator was not reported. It is never shown as zero.

Fiscal years: Texas fiscal years run September 1 to August 31. Local governments report at the end of their own fiscal year, as BRB's tables do.

The full method, with the class breaks and the size bands, is on the explorer's main page. Sources are listed below.

EMMA links are added as each issue is matched.

Source: Local Issuance Fee By Year (updated by the publisher 10/6/2026); Debt Outstanding By Issuance Local By Year (updated by the publisher 9/9/2026). Loaded here 10/17/2026.

Texas fiscal years run September 1 to August 31.

Issuer names are shown as published, without source footnote letters.

Figures are as reported to the agency and have not been independently verified.