County brief: Hays County
Texas Bond Review BoardData Center
Debt explorer, Data Center. Showing Total principal outstanding for Other Special Districts, fiscal year 2025.
Hays County's 2 Other Special Districts owed $425.2 million in principal outstanding at the end of fiscal year 2025, 5th of 21 counties and 1st of 7. Of that, $386.0 million is owed by 1 issuer that also serves other counties.
- Total principal outstanding
- $425,215,000
- Rank
- 5th of 21
- Rank in its size band
- 1st of 7(100,000 to 499,999)
- Total principal outstanding
- $425,215,000
- Population (county government's row)
- 292,029
- Of which multi-county issuers
- $385,965,000
Debt by government type
| Type | Issuers | Principal outstanding | Share | Share, as a bar |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Other Special Districts | 2 | $425,215,000 | 100.0% | |
| Total | 2 | $425,215,000 | 100.0% |
Over the years
Largest of the 2 governments
| Issuer | Type | Principal outstanding | Per resident |
|---|---|---|---|
| Alliance Regional WA | Other Special Districts | $385,965,000 | Not reported |
| Hays County Development District 1 | Other Special Districts | $39,250,000 | $28,177 |
How these figures are made. BRB lists every county an issuer serves and gives no shares, so an issuer's debt counts in its home county, the first county listed for it, and each dollar counts once statewide. Of Hays County's $425,215,000, $385,965,000 is owed by 1 issuer that lists other counties too; 0 issuers that list Hays County count in another. Total principal outstanding: principal outstanding at the fiscal year end, summed over the local governments attributed to the county. "Not reported" is never shown as zero.
Source: Texas Bond Review Board open data on data.texas.gov: Local Issuance Fee By Year (updated by the publisher 10/6/2026); Debt Outstanding By Issuance Local By Year (updated by the publisher 9/9/2026). Loaded here 10/17/2026. Computed here from BRB's tables. Texas fiscal years run September 1 to August 31. Issuer names are shown as published, without source footnote letters. Figures are as reported to the agency and have not been independently verified.
