This is a MuniPro demonstration of a redesigned Texas Bond Review Board website. It is not the official BRB site: nothing filed here reaches BRB, and the email addresses shown are BRB's own.

The official site is brb.texas.gov.

County · Debt explorer

Hidalgo County

Print county brief1 page, fiscal year 2025

Hidalgo County's 1 Other special district owed $278.7 million in principal outstanding at the end of fiscal year 2025, 6th of 21 counties and 5th of 10. Figures as loaded 10/18/2026.

Showing Total principal outstanding for Other Special Districts, fiscal year 2025. How it is computed: principal outstanding at the fiscal year end, summed over the local governments attributed to the county; computed here from BRB's tables. Method.

Total principal outstanding
$278,665,052
Rank
6th of 21
Rank in its size band
5th of 10
Population (county government's row)
914,820
Of which multi-county issuers
$0

Every bond issue in Hidalgo County in the bond database

Debt by government type, fiscal year 2025

Download CSV
Principal outstanding by government type; the table below gives the figures.Other Special Districts: $278.7million
Principal outstanding by government type
Type?Issuers?Principal outstanding?Share?
Other Special DistrictsIssuers1Principal outstanding$278,665,052Share100.0%
TotalIssuers1Principal outstanding$278,665,052Share100.0%

Scroll for more columns →

Principal outstanding by government type
Type?Issuers?Principal outstanding?Share?
Other Special DistrictsIssuers1Principal outstanding$278,665,052Share100.0%
TotalIssuers1Principal outstanding$278,665,052Share100.0%

Governments attributed to Hidalgo County

Download CSV

Each counts here because Hidalgo is the first county BRB lists for it. Per resident uses the government's own reported population, where it reports one.

Governments attributed to the county, fiscal year 2025. Select a column heading to sort by it.
Issuer ?Type ?Principal outstanding ?Per resident ?
Hidalgo County Regional Mobility AuthOther Special Districts$278,665,052$318

Scroll for more columns →

Governments attributed to the county, fiscal year 2025. Select a column heading to sort by it.
Issuer ?Type ?Principal outstanding ?Per resident ?
Hidalgo County Regional Mobility AuthOther Special Districts$278,665,052$318
  1. Hidalgo County Regional Mobility AuthOther Special DistrictsPrincipal $278,665,052Per resident: $318

Rows 1–1 of 1

Skip the governments table

Also serve Hidalgo County

No issuer counted in another county lists Hidalgo County.

Over the years

Download CSV
Principal outstanding at each fiscal year end; the table below gives the figures.$59.4million2016$81.3million2017$80.2million2018$79.0million2019$77.8million2020$95.0million2021$285.4million2022$283.2million2023$281.0million2024$278.7million2025
2016: $59.4 million; 2025: $278.7 million
Principal outstanding, issuers and population at each fiscal year end
Fiscal year?Principal outstanding?Issuers?Population?
Fiscal year2025Principal outstanding$278,665,052Issuers1Population914,820
Fiscal year2024Principal outstanding$280,990,052Issuers1Population898,471
Fiscal year2023Principal outstanding$283,230,052Issuers1Population888,367
Fiscal year2022Principal outstanding$285,400,052Issuers1Population880,356
Fiscal year2021Principal outstanding$95,035,293Issuers1Population870,781
Fiscal year2020Principal outstanding$77,800,293Issuers1Population868,707
Fiscal year2019Principal outstanding$79,020,293Issuers1Population865,939
Fiscal year2018Principal outstanding$80,195,293Issuers1Population860,661
Fiscal year2017Principal outstanding$81,335,293Issuers1Population849,843
Fiscal year2016Principal outstanding$59,380,000Issuers1Population842,304

Scroll for more columns →

Principal outstanding, issuers and population at each fiscal year end
Fiscal year?Principal outstanding?Issuers?Population?
Fiscal year2025Principal outstanding$278,665,052Issuers1Population914,820
Fiscal year2024Principal outstanding$280,990,052Issuers1Population898,471
Fiscal year2023Principal outstanding$283,230,052Issuers1Population888,367
Fiscal year2022Principal outstanding$285,400,052Issuers1Population880,356
Fiscal year2021Principal outstanding$95,035,293Issuers1Population870,781
Fiscal year2020Principal outstanding$77,800,293Issuers1Population868,707
Fiscal year2019Principal outstanding$79,020,293Issuers1Population865,939
Fiscal year2018Principal outstanding$80,195,293Issuers1Population860,661
Fiscal year2017Principal outstanding$81,335,293Issuers1Population849,843
Fiscal year2016Principal outstanding$59,380,000Issuers1Population842,304

How these figures are made

Total principal outstanding

principal outstanding at the fiscal year end, summed over the local governments attributed to the county; computed here from BRB's tables for fiscal year 2025. It has no denominator.

Which governments count here

BRB's County field lists every county an issuer serves and gives no shares. An issuer's debt counts in its home county, the first county listed for it, so each dollar counts once statewide. Issuers that list Hidalgo County but count in another are under "Also serve Hidalgo County". Per resident in the issuer list uses each government's own reported population, where it reports one.

Not reported means no government of the chosen type in the county reported the amount that year, or the denominator was not reported. It is never shown as zero.

Fiscal years: Texas fiscal years run September 1 to August 31. Local governments report at the end of their own fiscal year, as BRB's tables do.

The full method, with the class breaks and the size bands, is on the explorer's main page. Sources are listed below.

EMMA links are added as each issue is matched.

Source: Local Issuance Fee By Year (updated by the publisher 10/6/2026); Debt Outstanding By Issuance Local By Year (updated by the publisher 9/9/2026). Loaded here 10/18/2026.

Texas fiscal years run September 1 to August 31.

Issuer names are shown as published, without source footnote letters.

Figures are as reported to the agency and have not been independently verified.