This is a MuniPro demonstration of a redesigned Texas Bond Review Board website. It is not the official BRB site: nothing filed here reaches BRB, and the email addresses shown are BRB's own.

The official site is brb.texas.gov.

County · Debt explorer

Lubbock County

Print county brief1 page, fiscal year 2025

Lubbock County's 17 local governments owed $3.5 billion in principal outstanding at the end of fiscal year 2025, 16th of 252 counties and 5th of 31. Of that, $40.2 million is owed by 1 issuer that also serves other counties. Figures as loaded 10/17/2026.

Showing Total principal outstanding for all local governments, fiscal year 2025. How it is computed: principal outstanding at the fiscal year end, summed over the local governments attributed to the county; computed here from BRB's tables. Method.

Total principal outstanding
$3,516,200,044
Rank
16th of 252
Rank in its size band
5th of 31
Population (county government's row)
327,394
Of which multi-county issuers
$40,240,000

Every bond issue in Lubbock County in the bond database

Debt by government type, fiscal year 2025

Download CSV
Principal outstanding by government type; the table below gives the figures.Cities: $1.4 billionCounties: $118.0 millionWater Districts: $40.2 millionIndependent School Districts: $1.9billion

Governments attributed to Lubbock County

Download CSV

Each counts here because Lubbock is the first county BRB lists for it. Per resident uses the government's own reported population, where it reports one.

Governments attributed to the county, fiscal year 2025. Select a column heading to sort by it.
Issuer ?Type ?Principal outstanding ?Per resident ?
LubbockCities$1,342,078,000$4,933
Frenship ISDIndependent School Districts$635,485,000$11,726
Lubbock-Cooper ISDIndependent School Districts$605,323,044$20,514
Lubbock ISDIndependent School Districts$507,480,000$2,669
Lubbock CountyCounties$118,015,000$360
Shallowater ISDIndependent School Districts$70,395,000$10,565
Roosevelt ISDIndependent School Districts$62,340,000$9,166
WolfforthCities$43,200,000$5,412
New Deal ISDIndependent School Districts$42,385,000$12,024
Canadian River MWA
also lists Randall, Lamb, Hale
Water Districts$40,240,000$46
SlatonCities$15,556,000$2,730
Slaton ISDIndependent School Districts$9,180,000$1,467
Idalou ISDIndependent School Districts$8,775,000$2,006
Ransom CanyonCities$7,480,000$6,339
IdalouCities$3,548,000$1,676
ShallowaterCities$3,315,000$1,115
New DealCities$1,405,000$1,878

Scroll for more columns →

Governments attributed to the county, fiscal year 2025. Select a column heading to sort by it.
Issuer ?Type ?Principal outstanding ?Per resident ?
LubbockCities$1,342,078,000$4,933
Frenship ISDIndependent School Districts$635,485,000$11,726
Lubbock-Cooper ISDIndependent School Districts$605,323,044$20,514
Lubbock ISDIndependent School Districts$507,480,000$2,669
Lubbock CountyCounties$118,015,000$360
Shallowater ISDIndependent School Districts$70,395,000$10,565
Roosevelt ISDIndependent School Districts$62,340,000$9,166
WolfforthCities$43,200,000$5,412
New Deal ISDIndependent School Districts$42,385,000$12,024
Canadian River MWA
also lists Randall, Lamb, Hale
Water Districts$40,240,000$46
SlatonCities$15,556,000$2,730
Slaton ISDIndependent School Districts$9,180,000$1,467
Idalou ISDIndependent School Districts$8,775,000$2,006
Ransom CanyonCities$7,480,000$6,339
IdalouCities$3,548,000$1,676
ShallowaterCities$3,315,000$1,115
New DealCities$1,405,000$1,878
  1. LubbockCitiesPrincipal $1,342,078,000Per resident: $4,933
  2. Frenship ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $635,485,000Per resident: $11,726
  3. Lubbock-Cooper ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $605,323,044Per resident: $20,514
  4. Lubbock ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $507,480,000Per resident: $2,669
  5. Lubbock CountyCountiesPrincipal $118,015,000Per resident: $360
  6. Shallowater ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $70,395,000Per resident: $10,565
  7. Roosevelt ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $62,340,000Per resident: $9,166
  8. WolfforthCitiesPrincipal $43,200,000Per resident: $5,412
  9. New Deal ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $42,385,000Per resident: $12,024
  10. Canadian River MWAWater Districts; also lists Randall, Lamb, HalePrincipal $40,240,000Per resident: $46
  11. SlatonCitiesPrincipal $15,556,000Per resident: $2,730
  12. Slaton ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $9,180,000Per resident: $1,467
  13. Idalou ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $8,775,000Per resident: $2,006
  14. Ransom CanyonCitiesPrincipal $7,480,000Per resident: $6,339
  15. IdalouCitiesPrincipal $3,548,000Per resident: $1,676
  16. ShallowaterCitiesPrincipal $3,315,000Per resident: $1,115
  17. New DealCitiesPrincipal $1,405,000Per resident: $1,878

Rows 1–17 of 17

Skip the governments table

Also serve Lubbock County

$40,240,000 of this county's $3,516,200,044 (1%) is owed by 1 issuer attributed here that lists other counties too. No issuer counted in another county lists Lubbock County.

Over the years

Download CSV
Principal outstanding at each fiscal year end; the table below gives the figures.$2.1billion2016$2.1billion2017$2.1billion2018$2.2billion2019$2.2billion2020$2.3billion2021$2.7billion2022$2.8billion2023$2.9billion2024$3.5billion2025
2016: $2.1 billion; 2025: $3.5 billion
Principal outstanding, issuers and population at each fiscal year end
Fiscal year?Principal outstanding?Issuers?Population?
Fiscal year2025Principal outstanding$3,516,200,044Issuers17Population327,394
Fiscal year2024Principal outstanding$2,933,121,706Issuers17Population320,940
Fiscal year2023Principal outstanding$2,802,313,934Issuers17Population317,561
Fiscal year2022Principal outstanding$2,681,930,718Issuers17Population314,451
Fiscal year2021Principal outstanding$2,304,636,726Issuers16Population310,639
Fiscal year2020Principal outstanding$2,176,779,951Issuers16Population310,569
Fiscal year2019Principal outstanding$2,150,079,378Issuers16Population307,412
Fiscal year2018Principal outstanding$2,098,058,408Issuers16Population305,225
Fiscal year2017Principal outstanding$2,088,432,328Issuers15Population303,137
Fiscal year2016Principal outstanding$2,077,068,607Issuers16Population299,453

Scroll for more columns →

Principal outstanding, issuers and population at each fiscal year end
Fiscal year?Principal outstanding?Issuers?Population?
Fiscal year2025Principal outstanding$3,516,200,044Issuers17Population327,394
Fiscal year2024Principal outstanding$2,933,121,706Issuers17Population320,940
Fiscal year2023Principal outstanding$2,802,313,934Issuers17Population317,561
Fiscal year2022Principal outstanding$2,681,930,718Issuers17Population314,451
Fiscal year2021Principal outstanding$2,304,636,726Issuers16Population310,639
Fiscal year2020Principal outstanding$2,176,779,951Issuers16Population310,569
Fiscal year2019Principal outstanding$2,150,079,378Issuers16Population307,412
Fiscal year2018Principal outstanding$2,098,058,408Issuers16Population305,225
Fiscal year2017Principal outstanding$2,088,432,328Issuers15Population303,137
Fiscal year2016Principal outstanding$2,077,068,607Issuers16Population299,453

How these figures are made

Total principal outstanding

principal outstanding at the fiscal year end, summed over the local governments attributed to the county; computed here from BRB's tables for fiscal year 2025. It has no denominator.

Which governments count here

BRB's County field lists every county an issuer serves and gives no shares. An issuer's debt counts in its home county, the first county listed for it, so each dollar counts once statewide. Of Lubbock County's $3,516,200,044, $40,240,000 is owed by issuers that list other counties too. Issuers that list Lubbock County but count in another are under "Also serve Lubbock County". Per resident in the issuer list uses each government's own reported population, where it reports one.

Not reported means no government of the chosen type in the county reported the amount that year, or the denominator was not reported. It is never shown as zero.

Fiscal years: Texas fiscal years run September 1 to August 31. Local governments report at the end of their own fiscal year, as BRB's tables do.

The full method, with the class breaks and the size bands, is on the explorer's main page. Sources are listed below.

EMMA links are added as each issue is matched.

Source: Local Issuance Fee By Year (updated by the publisher 10/6/2026); Debt Outstanding By Issuance Local By Year (updated by the publisher 9/9/2026). Loaded here 10/17/2026.

Texas fiscal years run September 1 to August 31.

Issuer names are shown as published, without source footnote letters.

Figures are as reported to the agency and have not been independently verified.