County brief: Willacy County
Texas Bond Review BoardData Center
Debt explorer, Data Center. Showing Total principal outstanding for all local governments, fiscal year 2025.
Willacy County's 9 local governments owed $69.3 million in principal outstanding at the end of fiscal year 2025, 148th of 252 counties and 37th of 53.
- Total principal outstanding
- $69,258,500
- Rank
- 148th of 252
- Rank in its size band
- 37th of 53(10,000 to 49,999)
- Total principal outstanding
- $69,258,500
- Population (county government's row)
- 20,027
- Of which multi-county issuers
- $0
Debt by government type
| Type | Issuers | Principal outstanding | Share | Share, as a bar |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cities | 2 | $12,643,000 | 18.3% | |
| Counties | 1 | $3,579,000 | 5.2% | |
| Water Districts | 2 | $572,500 | 0.8% | |
| Independent School Districts | 4 | $52,464,000 | 75.8% | |
| Total | 9 | $69,258,500 | 100.0% |
Over the years
Largest of the 9 governments
| Issuer | Type | Principal outstanding | Per resident |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lyford CISD | Independent School Districts | $23,024,000 | $4,018 |
| San Perlita ISD | Independent School Districts | $13,160,000 | $16,553 |
| Raymondville ISD | Independent School Districts | $12,650,000 | $1,092 |
| Raymondville | Cities | $9,913,000 | $981 |
| Lasara ISD | Independent School Districts | $3,630,000 | $2,368 |
| Willacy County | Counties | $3,579,000 | $179 |
| Lyford | Cities | $2,730,000 | $1,236 |
| Sebastian MUD 1 | Water Districts | $406,500 | Not reported |
| Port Mansfield PUD | Water Districts | $166,000 | Not reported |
How these figures are made. BRB lists every county an issuer serves and gives no shares, so an issuer's debt counts in its home county, the first county listed for it, and each dollar counts once statewide. Of Willacy County's $69,258,500, $0 is owed by 0 issuers that list other counties too; 1 issuer that lists Willacy County counts in another. Total principal outstanding: principal outstanding at the fiscal year end, summed over the local governments attributed to the county. "Not reported" is never shown as zero.
Source: Texas Bond Review Board open data on data.texas.gov: Local Issuance Fee By Year (updated by the publisher 10/6/2026); Debt Outstanding By Issuance Local By Year (updated by the publisher 9/9/2026). Loaded here 10/17/2026. Computed here from BRB's tables. Texas fiscal years run September 1 to August 31. Issuer names are shown as published, without source footnote letters. Figures are as reported to the agency and have not been independently verified.
