County brief: Bowie County
Texas Bond Review BoardData Center
Debt explorer, Data Center. Showing Total principal outstanding for all local governments, fiscal year 2025.
Bowie County's 23 local governments owed $633.0 million in principal outstanding at the end of fiscal year 2025, 45th of 252 counties and 5th of 26.
- Total principal outstanding
- $632,966,754
- Rank
- 45th of 252
- Rank in its size band
- 5th of 26(50,000 to 99,999)
- Total principal outstanding
- $632,966,754
- Population (county government's row)
- 91,992
- Of which multi-county issuers
- $0
Debt by government type
| Type | Issuers | Principal outstanding | Share | Share, as a bar |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cities | 7 | $98,633,000 | 15.6% | |
| Counties | 1 | $11,210,000 | 1.8% | |
| Water Districts | 2 | $158,265,754 | 25.0% | |
| Independent School Districts | 11 | $351,303,000 | 55.5% | |
| Community & Junior College Districts | 1 | $10,240,000 | 1.6% | |
| Other Special Districts | 1 | $3,315,000 | 0.5% | |
| Total | 23 | $632,966,754 | 100.0% |
Over the years
Largest of the 23 governments
| Issuer | Type | Principal outstanding | Per resident |
|---|---|---|---|
| Texarkana ISD | Independent School Districts | $206,400,000 | $8,007 |
| Riverbend Water Resources District | Water Districts | $156,005,000 | $1,156 |
| Texarkana | Cities | $78,935,000 | $2,194 |
| Pleasant Grove ISD | Independent School Districts | $73,505,000 | $5,561 |
| New Boston ISD | Independent School Districts | $21,630,000 | $3,015 |
| Liberty-Eylau ISD | Independent School Districts | $19,815,000 | $1,752 |
| Hooks ISD | Independent School Districts | $15,340,000 | $3,939 |
| Bowie County | Counties | $11,210,000 | $122 |
| Texarkana CCD | Community & Junior College Districts | $10,240,000 | $109 |
| Nash | Cities | $7,245,000 | $1,722 |
| Maud ISD | Independent School Districts | $6,508,000 | $3,053 |
| New Boston | Cities | $5,140,000 | $1,131 |
| Redwater ISD | Independent School Districts | $4,045,000 | $809 |
| Texamericas Center | Other Special Districts | $3,315,000 | Not reported |
| DeKalb | Cities | $3,205,000 | $2,248 |
| Leary | Cities | $2,774,000 | $6,083 |
| Red Lick ISD | Independent School Districts | $2,760,000 | $801 |
| Macedonia-Eylau MUD 1 | Water Districts | $2,260,754 | $328 |
5 more issuers: see https://txbrb.muniopen.com/data/explore/county/bowie/#issuers
How these figures are made. BRB lists every county an issuer serves and gives no shares, so an issuer's debt counts in its home county, the first county listed for it, and each dollar counts once statewide. Of Bowie County's $632,966,754, $0 is owed by 0 issuers that list other counties too; 0 issuers that list Bowie County count in another. Total principal outstanding: principal outstanding at the fiscal year end, summed over the local governments attributed to the county. "Not reported" is never shown as zero.
Source: Texas Bond Review Board open data on data.texas.gov: Local Issuance Fee By Year (updated by the publisher 10/6/2026); Debt Outstanding By Issuance Local By Year (updated by the publisher 9/9/2026). Loaded here 10/17/2026. Computed here from BRB's tables. Texas fiscal years run September 1 to August 31. Issuer names are shown as published, without source footnote letters. Figures are as reported to the agency and have not been independently verified.
