This is a MuniPro demonstration of a redesigned Texas Bond Review Board website. It is not the official BRB site: nothing filed here reaches BRB, and the email addresses shown are BRB's own.

The official site is brb.texas.gov.

County · Debt explorer

Harris County

Print county brief1 page, fiscal year 2025

Harris County's 19 Independent School Districts owed $19.9 billion in principal outstanding at the end of fiscal year 2025, 1st of 245 counties and 1st of 12. Of that, $573.2 million is owed by 1 issuer that also serves other counties. Figures as loaded 10/17/2026.

Showing Total principal outstanding for Independent School Districts, fiscal year 2025. How it is computed: principal outstanding at the fiscal year end, summed over the local governments attributed to the county; computed here from BRB's tables. Method.

Total principal outstanding
$19,877,621,739
Rank
1st of 245
Rank in its size band
1st of 12
Population (county government's row)
5,009,302
Of which multi-county issuers
$573,205,572

Every bond issue in Harris County in the bond database

Debt by government type, fiscal year 2025

Download CSV
Principal outstanding by government type; the table below gives the figures.Independent School Districts: $19.9billion
Principal outstanding by government type
Type?Issuers?Principal outstanding?Share?
Independent School DistrictsIssuers19Principal outstanding$19,877,621,739Share100.0%
TotalIssuers19Principal outstanding$19,877,621,739Share100.0%

Scroll for more columns →

Principal outstanding by government type
Type?Issuers?Principal outstanding?Share?
Independent School DistrictsIssuers19Principal outstanding$19,877,621,739Share100.0%
TotalIssuers19Principal outstanding$19,877,621,739Share100.0%

Governments attributed to Harris County

Download CSV

Each counts here because Harris is the first county BRB lists for it. Per resident uses the government's own reported population, where it reports one.

Governments attributed to the county, fiscal year 2025. Select a column heading to sort by it.
Issuer ?Type ?Principal outstanding ?Per resident ?
Cypress-Fairbanks ISDIndependent School Districts$3,484,020,000$6,046
Katy ISDIndependent School Districts$2,666,755,000$7,289
Houston ISDIndependent School Districts$1,841,915,000$1,216
Klein ISDIndependent School Districts$1,464,255,000$4,826
Spring ISDIndependent School Districts$1,300,200,000$7,019
Spring Branch ISDIndependent School Districts$1,296,155,000$6,992
Humble ISDIndependent School Districts$1,295,795,000$6,083
Aldine ISDIndependent School Districts$1,234,105,000$4,592
Tomball ISDIndependent School Districts$1,119,345,000$13,733
Pasadena ISDIndependent School Districts$871,510,000$3,242
Goose Creek CISD
also lists Chambers
Independent School Districts$573,205,572$5,263
Sheldon ISDIndependent School Districts$514,784,996$12,735
Galena Park ISDIndependent School Districts$459,631,171$5,450
Alief ISDIndependent School Districts$411,390,000$1,558
La Porte ISDIndependent School Districts$402,660,000$8,523
Deer Park ISDIndependent School Districts$351,250,000$6,244
Channelview ISDIndependent School Districts$255,090,000$6,550
Crosby ISDIndependent School Districts$187,780,000$6,027
Huffman ISDIndependent School Districts$147,775,000$8,479

Scroll for more columns →

Governments attributed to the county, fiscal year 2025. Select a column heading to sort by it.
Issuer ?Type ?Principal outstanding ?Per resident ?
Cypress-Fairbanks ISDIndependent School Districts$3,484,020,000$6,046
Katy ISDIndependent School Districts$2,666,755,000$7,289
Houston ISDIndependent School Districts$1,841,915,000$1,216
Klein ISDIndependent School Districts$1,464,255,000$4,826
Spring ISDIndependent School Districts$1,300,200,000$7,019
Spring Branch ISDIndependent School Districts$1,296,155,000$6,992
Humble ISDIndependent School Districts$1,295,795,000$6,083
Aldine ISDIndependent School Districts$1,234,105,000$4,592
Tomball ISDIndependent School Districts$1,119,345,000$13,733
Pasadena ISDIndependent School Districts$871,510,000$3,242
Goose Creek CISD
also lists Chambers
Independent School Districts$573,205,572$5,263
Sheldon ISDIndependent School Districts$514,784,996$12,735
Galena Park ISDIndependent School Districts$459,631,171$5,450
Alief ISDIndependent School Districts$411,390,000$1,558
La Porte ISDIndependent School Districts$402,660,000$8,523
Deer Park ISDIndependent School Districts$351,250,000$6,244
Channelview ISDIndependent School Districts$255,090,000$6,550
Crosby ISDIndependent School Districts$187,780,000$6,027
Huffman ISDIndependent School Districts$147,775,000$8,479
  1. Cypress-Fairbanks ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $3,484,020,000Per resident: $6,046
  2. Katy ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $2,666,755,000Per resident: $7,289
  3. Houston ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $1,841,915,000Per resident: $1,216
  4. Klein ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $1,464,255,000Per resident: $4,826
  5. Spring ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $1,300,200,000Per resident: $7,019
  6. Spring Branch ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $1,296,155,000Per resident: $6,992
  7. Humble ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $1,295,795,000Per resident: $6,083
  8. Aldine ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $1,234,105,000Per resident: $4,592
  9. Tomball ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $1,119,345,000Per resident: $13,733
  10. Pasadena ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $871,510,000Per resident: $3,242
  11. Goose Creek CISDIndependent School Districts; also lists ChambersPrincipal $573,205,572Per resident: $5,263
  12. Sheldon ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $514,784,996Per resident: $12,735
  13. Galena Park ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $459,631,171Per resident: $5,450
  14. Alief ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $411,390,000Per resident: $1,558
  15. La Porte ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $402,660,000Per resident: $8,523
  16. Deer Park ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $351,250,000Per resident: $6,244
  17. Channelview ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $255,090,000Per resident: $6,550
  18. Crosby ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $187,780,000Per resident: $6,027
  19. Huffman ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $147,775,000Per resident: $8,479

Rows 1–19 of 19

Skip the governments table

Also serve Harris County

$573,205,572 of this county's $19,877,621,739 (3%) is owed by 1 issuer attributed here that lists other counties too. No issuer counted in another county lists Harris County.

Over the years

Download CSV
Principal outstanding at each fiscal year end; the table below gives the figures.$13.1billion2016$14.3billion2017$15.3billion2018$15.3billion2019$16.2billion2020$16.1billion2021$16.5billion2022$18.1billion2023$18.2billion2024$19.9billion2025
2016: $13.1 billion; 2025: $19.9 billion
Principal outstanding, issuers and population at each fiscal year end
Fiscal year?Principal outstanding?Issuers?Population?
Fiscal year2025Principal outstanding$19,877,621,739Issuers19Population5,009,302
Fiscal year2024Principal outstanding$18,241,065,506Issuers19Population4,835,125
Fiscal year2023Principal outstanding$18,071,202,106Issuers19Population4,780,913
Fiscal year2022Principal outstanding$16,458,872,542Issuers19Population4,728,030
Fiscal year2021Principal outstanding$16,106,360,309Issuers19Population4,731,145
Fiscal year2020Principal outstanding$16,175,474,795Issuers19Population4,713,325
Fiscal year2019Principal outstanding$15,301,806,790Issuers19Population4,698,619
Fiscal year2018Principal outstanding$15,298,657,912Issuers19Population4,652,980
Fiscal year2017Principal outstanding$14,331,904,196Issuers19Population4,589,928
Fiscal year2016Principal outstanding$13,094,474,606Issuers19Population4,538,028

Scroll for more columns →

Principal outstanding, issuers and population at each fiscal year end
Fiscal year?Principal outstanding?Issuers?Population?
Fiscal year2025Principal outstanding$19,877,621,739Issuers19Population5,009,302
Fiscal year2024Principal outstanding$18,241,065,506Issuers19Population4,835,125
Fiscal year2023Principal outstanding$18,071,202,106Issuers19Population4,780,913
Fiscal year2022Principal outstanding$16,458,872,542Issuers19Population4,728,030
Fiscal year2021Principal outstanding$16,106,360,309Issuers19Population4,731,145
Fiscal year2020Principal outstanding$16,175,474,795Issuers19Population4,713,325
Fiscal year2019Principal outstanding$15,301,806,790Issuers19Population4,698,619
Fiscal year2018Principal outstanding$15,298,657,912Issuers19Population4,652,980
Fiscal year2017Principal outstanding$14,331,904,196Issuers19Population4,589,928
Fiscal year2016Principal outstanding$13,094,474,606Issuers19Population4,538,028

How these figures are made

Total principal outstanding

principal outstanding at the fiscal year end, summed over the local governments attributed to the county; computed here from BRB's tables for fiscal year 2025. It has no denominator.

Which governments count here

BRB's County field lists every county an issuer serves and gives no shares. An issuer's debt counts in its home county, the first county listed for it, so each dollar counts once statewide. Of Harris County's $19,877,621,739, $573,205,572 is owed by issuers that list other counties too. Issuers that list Harris County but count in another are under "Also serve Harris County". Per resident in the issuer list uses each government's own reported population, where it reports one.

Not reported means no government of the chosen type in the county reported the amount that year, or the denominator was not reported. It is never shown as zero.

Fiscal years: Texas fiscal years run September 1 to August 31. Local governments report at the end of their own fiscal year, as BRB's tables do.

The full method, with the class breaks and the size bands, is on the explorer's main page. Sources are listed below.

EMMA links are added as each issue is matched.

Source: Local Issuance Fee By Year (updated by the publisher 10/6/2026); Debt Outstanding By Issuance Local By Year (updated by the publisher 9/9/2026). Loaded here 10/17/2026.

Texas fiscal years run September 1 to August 31.

Issuer names are shown as published, without source footnote letters.

Figures are as reported to the agency and have not been independently verified.