This is a MuniPro demonstration of a redesigned Texas Bond Review Board website. It is not the official BRB site: nothing filed here reaches BRB, and the email addresses shown are BRB's own.

The official site is brb.texas.gov.

County · Debt explorer

Jefferson County

Print county brief1 page, fiscal year 2025

Jefferson County's 10 Water Districts owed $1.2 billion in principal outstanding at the end of fiscal year 2025, 11th of 109 counties and 2nd of 26. Figures as loaded 10/17/2026.

Showing Total principal outstanding for Water Districts, fiscal year 2025. How it is computed: principal outstanding at the fiscal year end, summed over the local governments attributed to the county; computed here from BRB's tables. Method.

Total principal outstanding
$1,216,809,000
Rank
11th of 109
Rank in its size band
2nd of 26
Population (county government's row)
253,948
Of which multi-county issuers
$0

Every bond issue in Jefferson County in the bond database

Debt by government type, fiscal year 2025

Download CSV
Principal outstanding by government type; the table below gives the figures.Water Districts: $1.2 billion
Principal outstanding by government type
Type?Issuers?Principal outstanding?Share?
Water DistrictsIssuers10Principal outstanding$1,216,809,000Share100.0%
TotalIssuers10Principal outstanding$1,216,809,000Share100.0%

Scroll for more columns →

Principal outstanding by government type
Type?Issuers?Principal outstanding?Share?
Water DistrictsIssuers10Principal outstanding$1,216,809,000Share100.0%
TotalIssuers10Principal outstanding$1,216,809,000Share100.0%

Governments attributed to Jefferson County

Download CSV

Each counts here because Jefferson is the first county BRB lists for it. Per resident uses the government's own reported population, where it reports one.

Governments attributed to the county, fiscal year 2025. Select a column heading to sort by it.
Issuer ?Type ?Principal outstanding ?Per resident ?
Port of Beaumont NDWater Districts$889,485,000$3,467
Sabine-Neches ND of Jefferson CountyWater Districts$186,420,000$1,260
Port of Port Arthur NDWater Districts$83,990,000Not reported
Lower Neches Valley AuthorityWater Districts$11,980,000Not reported
Jefferson County DD 7Water Districts$10,755,000Not reported
Jefferson County WCID 10Water Districts$9,955,000$1,788
Meeker MWDWater Districts$7,475,000$1,751
Sabine Pass Port AuthorityWater Districts$6,856,000$8,549
Tarkington Special UDWater Districts$5,118,000$1,137
Jefferson County DD 6Water Districts$4,775,000$19

Scroll for more columns →

Governments attributed to the county, fiscal year 2025. Select a column heading to sort by it.
Issuer ?Type ?Principal outstanding ?Per resident ?
Port of Beaumont NDWater Districts$889,485,000$3,467
Sabine-Neches ND of Jefferson CountyWater Districts$186,420,000$1,260
Port of Port Arthur NDWater Districts$83,990,000Not reported
Lower Neches Valley AuthorityWater Districts$11,980,000Not reported
Jefferson County DD 7Water Districts$10,755,000Not reported
Jefferson County WCID 10Water Districts$9,955,000$1,788
Meeker MWDWater Districts$7,475,000$1,751
Sabine Pass Port AuthorityWater Districts$6,856,000$8,549
Tarkington Special UDWater Districts$5,118,000$1,137
Jefferson County DD 6Water Districts$4,775,000$19
  1. Port of Beaumont NDWater DistrictsPrincipal $889,485,000Per resident: $3,467
  2. Sabine-Neches ND of Jefferson CountyWater DistrictsPrincipal $186,420,000Per resident: $1,260
  3. Port of Port Arthur NDWater DistrictsPrincipal $83,990,000Per resident: Not reported
  4. Lower Neches Valley AuthorityWater DistrictsPrincipal $11,980,000Per resident: Not reported
  5. Jefferson County DD 7Water DistrictsPrincipal $10,755,000Per resident: Not reported
  6. Jefferson County WCID 10Water DistrictsPrincipal $9,955,000Per resident: $1,788
  7. Meeker MWDWater DistrictsPrincipal $7,475,000Per resident: $1,751
  8. Sabine Pass Port AuthorityWater DistrictsPrincipal $6,856,000Per resident: $8,549
  9. Tarkington Special UDWater DistrictsPrincipal $5,118,000Per resident: $1,137
  10. Jefferson County DD 6Water DistrictsPrincipal $4,775,000Per resident: $19

Rows 1–10 of 10

Skip the governments table

Also serve Jefferson County

Download CSV

These 1 issuer list Jefferson County but count in another county, the first one listed for each:

Issuers that list this county but count in another
Issuer?Type?Counted in?Principal outstanding?
Trinity Bay CDWater DistrictsChambers$2,930,000

Scroll for more columns →

Issuers that list this county but count in another
Issuer?Type?Counted in?Principal outstanding?
Trinity Bay CDWater DistrictsChambers$2,930,000

Over the years

Download CSV
Principal outstanding at each fiscal year end; the table below gives the figures.$290.8million2016$279.9million2017$383.1million2018$402.4million2019$543.6million2020$759.1million2021$755.4million2022$938.2million2023$1.2billion2024$1.2billion2025
2016: $290.8 million; 2025: $1.2 billion
Principal outstanding, issuers and population at each fiscal year end
Fiscal year?Principal outstanding?Issuers?Population?
Fiscal year2025Principal outstanding$1,216,809,000Issuers10Population253,948
Fiscal year2024Principal outstanding$1,231,352,100Issuers10Population251,496
Fiscal year2023Principal outstanding$938,246,100Issuers10Population250,830
Fiscal year2022Principal outstanding$755,434,200Issuers9Population253,704
Fiscal year2021Principal outstanding$759,083,200Issuers10Population256,526
Fiscal year2020Principal outstanding$543,601,200Issuers10Population251,565
Fiscal year2019Principal outstanding$402,441,000Issuers10Population255,001
Fiscal year2018Principal outstanding$383,132,000Issuers10Population256,299
Fiscal year2017Principal outstanding$279,941,000Issuers10Population254,679
Fiscal year2016Principal outstanding$290,830,000Issuers10Population254,308

Scroll for more columns →

Principal outstanding, issuers and population at each fiscal year end
Fiscal year?Principal outstanding?Issuers?Population?
Fiscal year2025Principal outstanding$1,216,809,000Issuers10Population253,948
Fiscal year2024Principal outstanding$1,231,352,100Issuers10Population251,496
Fiscal year2023Principal outstanding$938,246,100Issuers10Population250,830
Fiscal year2022Principal outstanding$755,434,200Issuers9Population253,704
Fiscal year2021Principal outstanding$759,083,200Issuers10Population256,526
Fiscal year2020Principal outstanding$543,601,200Issuers10Population251,565
Fiscal year2019Principal outstanding$402,441,000Issuers10Population255,001
Fiscal year2018Principal outstanding$383,132,000Issuers10Population256,299
Fiscal year2017Principal outstanding$279,941,000Issuers10Population254,679
Fiscal year2016Principal outstanding$290,830,000Issuers10Population254,308

How these figures are made

Total principal outstanding

principal outstanding at the fiscal year end, summed over the local governments attributed to the county; computed here from BRB's tables for fiscal year 2025. It has no denominator.

Which governments count here

BRB's County field lists every county an issuer serves and gives no shares. An issuer's debt counts in its home county, the first county listed for it, so each dollar counts once statewide. Issuers that list Jefferson County but count in another are under "Also serve Jefferson County". Per resident in the issuer list uses each government's own reported population, where it reports one.

Not reported means no government of the chosen type in the county reported the amount that year, or the denominator was not reported. It is never shown as zero.

Fiscal years: Texas fiscal years run September 1 to August 31. Local governments report at the end of their own fiscal year, as BRB's tables do.

The full method, with the class breaks and the size bands, is on the explorer's main page. Sources are listed below.

EMMA links are added as each issue is matched.

Source: Local Issuance Fee By Year (updated by the publisher 10/6/2026); Debt Outstanding By Issuance Local By Year (updated by the publisher 9/9/2026). Loaded here 10/17/2026.

Texas fiscal years run September 1 to August 31.

Issuer names are shown as published, without source footnote letters.

Figures are as reported to the agency and have not been independently verified.