State issuer
University of Houston System
$1,825,795,000 of principal outstanding on 15 issues at the end of fiscal year 2025.
Fiscal year 2025 at a glance
$1,825,795,000
$807,923,890
$2,633,718,890
Debt outstanding
Fiscal year 2025
- Revenue supported
- $1,825,795,000
- Total outstanding
- $1,825,795,000
Calculated by this site from the 15 issues below.
Debt issued
Fiscal year 2025
- Revenue supported
- $267,180,000
- Total issued
- $267,180,000
Calculated by this site from the par of the 2 issues issued in fiscal year 2025.
Debt outstanding by fiscal year
Fiscal years 2016 to 2025
| Fiscal year? | Principal? | Interest? | Total debt service? | Issues? |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fiscal year2025 Latest | Principal$1,825,795,000 | Interest$807,923,890 | Total debt service$2,633,718,890 | Issues15 |
| Fiscal year2024 | Principal$1,691,441,000 | Interest$707,354,158 | Total debt service$2,398,795,158 | Issues13 |
| Fiscal year2023 | Principal$1,746,865,000 | Interest$757,642,393 | Total debt service$2,504,507,393 | Issues13 |
| Fiscal year2022 | Principal$1,830,398,000 | Interest$833,885,152 | Total debt service$2,664,283,152 | Issues14 |
| Fiscal year2021 | Principal$1,493,535,000 | Interest$594,328,168 | Total debt service$2,087,863,167 | Issues15 |
| Fiscal year2020 | Principal$1,578,761,000 | Interest$669,769,192 | Total debt service$2,248,530,192 | Issues13 |
| Fiscal year2019 | Principal$1,431,570,000 | Interest$657,747,869 | Total debt service$2,089,317,869 | Issues15 |
| Fiscal year2018 | Principal$1,419,267,000 | Interest$668,382,592 | Total debt service$2,087,649,592 | Issues15 |
| Fiscal year2017 | Principal$1,283,471,999 | Interest$609,973,850 | Total debt service$1,893,445,849 | Issues15 |
| Fiscal year2016 | Principal$1,055,392,000 | Interest$494,157,120 | Total debt service$1,549,549,120 | Issues13 |
Issues outstanding, fiscal year 2025
Rows 1–15 of 15
Earlier issues
9 issues last reported before fiscal year 2025: repaid, refunded or matured
- UH Con Rev Ref Bonds Series 2013B (taxable) closed date not reported; last reported fiscal year 2022
- UHS Consoli Rev and Ref Bonds, Ser 2011A (SB 5 Exempt) closed date not reported; last reported fiscal year 2021
- UH Con Rev Ref Bonds Series 2013A closed date not reported; last reported fiscal year 2021
- UHS Consoli Rev and Ref Bonds, Ser 2011B (Tax) (SB 5 Exempt) closed date not reported; last reported fiscal year 2021
- UH Cons Rev and Ref Bonds, Ser 2008 closed date not reported; last reported fiscal year 2019
- UHS Consoli Rev and Ref Bonds, Series 2009A (5.09) closed date not reported; last reported fiscal year 2019
- UHS Consoli Rev Ref Bonds, Ser 2009 (11.08) closed date not reported; last reported fiscal year 2019
- UHS Consoli Rev and Ref Bonds, Ser 2010A (Tax), B (BABs), and C (2.10) closed date not reported; last reported fiscal year 2019
- UH Cons Rev Var Rate Bonds, Ser 2004 (3/04) closed date not reported; last reported fiscal year 2017
Texas fiscal years run September 1 to August 31. Each chart is as of fiscal year 2025 unless it names its years.
Colleges and university systems with revenue debt outstanding
Fiscal year 2025
- UTS
- University of Texas System
- TAMUS
- Texas A&M University System
- UHS
- University of Houston System
- TSUS
- Texas State University System
- TTUS
- Texas Tech University System
- UNTS
- University of North Texas System
- TSTC
- Texas State Technical College
- TWU
- Texas Woman's University
- SFA
- Stephen F. Austin State University
- TSU
- Texas Southern University
- MSU
- Midwestern State University
- University of Texas System$13.8 billion
- Texas A&M University System$5.4 billion
- University of Houston System$1.8 billion
- Texas State University System$1.4 billion
- Texas Tech University System$1.1 billion
- University of North Texas System$901.0 million
- Texas State Technical College$415.1 million
- Texas Woman's University$218.4 million
- Stephen F. Austin State University$154.8 million
- Texas Southern University$119.0 million
- Midwestern State University$58.0 million
- Tuition revenue bonds (TRB)
- Revenue Financing System (RFS)
- Permanent University Fund (PUF)
Principal of revenue debt outstanding, each system split by its three bond programs. BRB chart data fetched 10/15/2026.
| System | Tuition revenue bonds (TRB) | Revenue Financing System (RFS) | Permanent University Fund (PUF) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Texas System | $871,778,000 | $8,694,797,000 | $4,216,325,000 | $13,782,900,000 |
| Texas A&M University System | $772,445,595 | $3,043,875,425 | $1,628,020,000 | $5,444,341,020 |
| University of Houston System | $521,345,000 | $1,304,450,000 | $0 | $1,825,795,000 |
| Texas State University System | $284,405,000 | $1,112,530,057 | $0 | $1,396,935,057 |
| Texas Tech University System | $339,322,125 | $773,604,875 | $0 | $1,112,927,000 |
| University of North Texas System | $145,120,000 | $755,918,386 | $0 | $901,038,386 |
| Texas State Technical College | $201,900,000 | $213,211,195 | $0 | $415,111,195 |
| Texas Woman's University | $98,905,000 | $119,520,000 | $0 | $218,425,000 |
| Stephen F. Austin State University | $34,540,000 | $120,235,093 | $0 | $154,775,093 |
| Texas Southern University | $118,990,000 | $0 | $0 | $118,990,000 |
| Midwestern State University | $33,280,000 | $24,760,983 | $0 | $58,040,983 |
Total annual debt service outstanding
Fiscal years 2006 to 2055
- TRB principal
- TRB interest
- RFS principal
- RFS interest
- PUF: none outstanding
Principal and interest still owed at each fiscal year end, scheduled to the final maturity. BRB chart data fetched 10/15/2026.
| Fiscal year | TRB principal | TRB interest | RFS principal | RFS interest | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2006 | $156,380,000 | $58,906,511 | $169,395,000 | $81,739,569 | $466,421,080 |
| 2007 | $148,610,000 | $52,249,190 | $158,230,000 | $73,994,350 | $433,083,540 |
| 2008 | $192,541,500 | $76,560,901 | $260,508,500 | $178,574,296 | $708,185,198 |
| 2009 | $239,985,500 | $99,530,896 | $370,914,500 | $246,819,894 | $957,250,790 |
| 2010 | $226,259,000 | $87,871,222 | $467,191,000 | $308,084,634 | $1,089,405,855 |
| 2011 | $211,967,500 | $74,322,491 | $487,568,500 | $305,096,018 | $1,078,954,509 |
| 2012 | $190,082,942 | $63,741,392 | $664,602,058 | $445,341,875 | $1,363,768,267 |
| 2013 | $174,755,052 | $54,357,015 | $674,695,948 | $429,303,227 | $1,333,111,243 |
| 2014 | $159,520,495 | $45,980,605 | $766,785,505 | $461,145,176 | $1,433,431,781 |
| 2015 | $143,429,938 | $37,620,771 | $758,596,062 | $434,966,493 | $1,374,613,264 |
| 2016 | $243,890,912 | $75,578,802 | $811,501,088 | $418,578,317 | $1,549,549,119 |
| 2017 | $422,104,888 | $179,703,283 | $861,367,111 | $430,270,565 | $1,893,445,848 |
| 2018 | $403,516,094 | $164,283,093 | $1,015,750,906 | $504,099,497 | $2,087,649,590 |
| 2019 | $378,528,385 | $146,897,315 | $1,053,041,615 | $510,850,555 | $2,089,317,869 |
| 2020 | $364,948,062 | $134,652,602 | $1,213,812,938 | $535,116,590 | $2,248,530,192 |
| 2021 | $340,128,600 | $119,083,381 | $1,153,406,400 | $475,244,783 | $2,087,863,165 |
| 2022 | $611,845,000 | $277,230,505 | $1,218,553,000 | $556,654,645 | $2,664,283,151 |
| 2023 | $584,270,000 | $247,404,256 | $1,162,595,000 | $510,238,135 | $2,504,507,391 |
| 2024 | $553,525,000 | $220,768,844 | $1,137,916,000 | $486,585,313 | $2,398,795,157 |
| 2025 | $521,345,000 | $195,569,587 | $1,304,450,000 | $612,354,302 | $2,633,718,888 |
| 2026 | $487,675,000 | $171,880,170 | $1,245,090,000 | $564,124,675 | $2,468,769,845 |
| 2027 | $454,765,000 | $149,721,958 | $1,180,975,000 | $515,034,145 | $2,300,496,103 |
| 2028 | $420,320,000 | $129,120,235 | $1,114,430,000 | $468,701,135 | $2,132,571,369 |
| 2029 | $390,925,000 | $109,999,205 | $1,047,760,000 | $425,192,970 | $1,973,877,175 |
| 2030 | $360,110,000 | $92,277,222 | $980,340,000 | $384,422,210 | $1,817,149,431 |
| 2031 | $327,830,000 | $76,023,607 | $915,985,000 | $346,259,427 | $1,666,098,035 |
| 2032 | $294,025,000 | $61,307,601 | $850,510,000 | $310,537,592 | $1,516,380,193 |
| 2033 | $258,600,000 | $48,202,092 | $784,220,000 | $277,168,534 | $1,368,190,626 |
| 2034 | $221,475,000 | $36,787,688 | $722,715,000 | $246,127,813 | $1,227,105,502 |
| 2035 | $182,585,000 | $27,150,459 | $662,195,000 | $217,414,169 | $1,089,344,628 |
| 2036 | $141,845,000 | $19,376,625 | $601,735,000 | $191,061,716 | $954,018,341 |
| 2037 | $107,380,000 | $13,409,200 | $540,930,000 | $167,110,761 | $828,829,961 |
| 2038 | $87,365,000 | $8,787,350 | $491,620,000 | $145,407,534 | $733,179,884 |
| 2039 | $66,875,000 | $5,064,125 | $448,450,000 | $125,566,156 | $645,955,281 |
| 2040 | $45,450,000 | $2,276,400 | $408,000,000 | $107,369,806 | $563,096,206 |
| 2041 | $22,940,000 | $573,500 | $369,970,000 | $90,723,268 | $484,206,768 |
| 2042 | $0 | $0 | $330,335,000 | $75,672,841 | $406,007,841 |
| 2043 | $0 | $0 | $289,180,000 | $62,310,537 | $351,490,537 |
| 2044 | $0 | $0 | $251,930,000 | $50,571,219 | $302,501,219 |
| 2045 | $0 | $0 | $218,580,000 | $40,317,598 | $258,897,598 |
| 2046 | $0 | $0 | $183,800,000 | $31,489,247 | $215,289,247 |
| 2047 | $0 | $0 | $153,305,000 | $23,999,054 | $177,304,054 |
| 2048 | $0 | $0 | $124,695,000 | $17,698,205 | $142,393,205 |
| 2049 | $0 | $0 | $94,880,000 | $12,582,955 | $107,462,955 |
| 2050 | $0 | $0 | $69,975,000 | $8,582,019 | $78,557,019 |
| 2051 | $0 | $0 | $54,540,000 | $5,463,466 | $60,003,466 |
| 2052 | $0 | $0 | $38,340,000 | $3,111,266 | $41,451,266 |
| 2053 | $0 | $0 | $26,495,000 | $1,454,505 | $27,949,505 |
| 2054 | $0 | $0 | $14,035,000 | $419,141 | $14,454,141 |
| 2055 | $0 | $0 | $1,215,000 | $30,375 | $1,245,375 |
Total principal outstanding
Fiscal years 2006 to 2025
- Revenue supported, self-supporting
- None: tax supported, not self-supporting; tax supported, self-supporting; revenue supported, not self-supporting
Principal outstanding at each fiscal year end, by pledge and whether the debt pays for itself. BRB chart data fetched 10/15/2026.
| Fiscal year | Revenue supported, self-supporting | Total |
|---|---|---|
| 2006 | $325,775,000 | $325,775,000 |
| 2007 | $306,840,000 | $306,840,000 |
| 2008 | $453,050,000 | $453,050,000 |
| 2009 | $610,900,000 | $610,900,000 |
| 2010 | $693,450,000 | $693,450,000 |
| 2011 | $699,536,000 | $699,536,000 |
| 2012 | $854,685,000 | $854,685,000 |
| 2013 | $849,451,000 | $849,451,000 |
| 2014 | $926,306,000 | $926,306,000 |
| 2015 | $902,026,000 | $902,026,000 |
| 2016 | $1,055,392,000 | $1,055,392,000 |
| 2017 | $1,283,471,999 | $1,283,471,999 |
| 2018 | $1,419,267,000 | $1,419,267,000 |
| 2019 | $1,431,570,000 | $1,431,570,000 |
| 2020 | $1,578,761,000 | $1,578,761,000 |
| 2021 | $1,493,535,000 | $1,493,535,000 |
| 2022 | $1,830,398,000 | $1,830,398,000 |
| 2023 | $1,746,865,000 | $1,746,865,000 |
| 2024 | $1,691,441,000 | $1,691,441,000 |
| 2025 | $1,825,795,000 | $1,825,795,000 |
Bond counsel fees paid
Past five fiscal years
- Holland & Knight, LLP$481,000
- Norton Rose Fulbright US LLP$150,750
Total fees paid to each firm. BRB chart data fetched 10/15/2026.
Financial advisor fees paid
Past five fiscal years
- Masterson Advisors, LLC$503,119
Total fees paid to each firm. BRB chart data fetched 10/15/2026.
Underwriter fees paid
Past five fiscal years
- Jefferies Financial Group$385,961
- JPMorgan Chase & Co$190,268
- Loop Capital Markets, LLC$131,979
- Robert W Baird & Co$82,553
- Cabrera Capital Markets, LLC$76,154
- Citigroup, Inc$54,451
- Piper Jaffray & Co$52,306
- Raymond James Financial Inc$48,765
- Ramirez & Co Inc$47,903
- Hilltop Securities, Inc$38,599
- 280 Securities, LLC$7,881
- Blaylock Van, LLC$7,881
- CL King & Associates$7,881
- Commerce Bank$7,881
- Country Club Bank$7,881
- Crews & Associates, Inc$7,881
- Davenport & Co, LLC$7,881
- Dinosaur Financial Group LLC$7,881
- Duncan-Williams, Inc$7,881
- Edward Jones$7,881
Management fee plus takedown, for each of the top 20 firms. BRB chart data fetched 10/15/2026.
Rating agency fees paid
Past five fiscal years
- Moodys$357,000, 57%
- S&P$265,500, 43%
Total fees paid to each rating agency, with its share. BRB chart data fetched 10/15/2026.
Charts: BRB Data Center, University of Houston System: its seven chart CSVs. BRB chart data fetched 10/15/2026.
EMMA links are added as each issue is matched.
Source: State Issuance Fee By Year (updated by the publisher 8/27/2026); Debt Outstanding By Issuance State By Year (updated by the publisher 10/6/2026). Loaded here 10/17/2026.
Texas fiscal years run September 1 to August 31.
Issuer names are shown as published, without source footnote letters.
Figures are as reported to the agency and have not been independently verified.
