This is a MuniPro demonstration of a redesigned Texas Bond Review Board website. It is not the official BRB site: nothing filed here reaches BRB, and the email addresses shown are BRB's own.

The official site is brb.texas.gov.

County · Debt explorer

Kaufman County

Print county brief1 page, fiscal year 2025

Kaufman County's 36 local governments owed $3.5 billion in principal outstanding at the end of fiscal year 2025, 17th of 252 counties and 6th of 31. Of that, $33.5 million is owed by 1 issuer that also serves other counties. Figures as loaded 10/18/2026.

Showing Total principal outstanding for all local governments, fiscal year 2025. How it is computed: principal outstanding at the fiscal year end, summed over the local governments attributed to the county; computed here from BRB's tables. Method.

Total principal outstanding
$3,487,439,989
Rank
17th of 252
Rank in its size band
6th of 31
Population (county government's row)
197,829
Of which multi-county issuers
$33,466,000

Every bond issue in Kaufman County in the bond database

Debt by government type, fiscal year 2025

Download CSV
Principal outstanding by government type; the table below gives the figures.Cities: $365.5 millionCounties: $169.6 millionWater Districts: $737.7 millionIndependent School Districts: $2.2billion

Governments attributed to Kaufman County

Download CSV

Each counts here because Kaufman is the first county BRB lists for it. Per resident uses the government's own reported population, where it reports one.

Governments attributed to the county, fiscal year 2025. Select a column heading to sort by it.
Issuer ?Type ?Principal outstanding ?Per resident ?
Forney ISDIndependent School Districts$1,264,769,911$20,675
Terrell ISDIndependent School Districts$308,605,782$10,426
Crandall ISDIndependent School Districts$285,825,000$11,507
Kaufman ISDIndependent School Districts$180,580,000$7,073
Kaufman CountyCounties$169,615,000$857
TerrellCities$157,448,000$6,852
Mabank ISDIndependent School Districts$131,039,306$5,313
Kaufman County MUD 05Water Districts$88,785,000$10,196
Kaufman County MUD 03Water Districts$81,615,000$16,375
CrandallCities$77,411,000$13,010
Kaufman County FWSD 4AWater Districts$75,040,000$9,958
KaufmanCities$57,502,000$5,877
Kaufman County MUD 06Water Districts$56,010,000$9,229
Kaufman County MUD 14Water Districts$52,455,000$7,178
Kaufman County MUD 04Water Districts$48,070,000$12,111
Kaufman County MUD 10Water Districts$46,360,000$14,182
Kemp ISDIndependent School Districts$36,729,990$2,362
Kaufman County FWSD 6Water Districts$35,905,000Not reported
Kaufman County FWSD 1DWater Districts$35,010,000$9,777
Kaufman County FWSD 1CWater Districts$33,630,000$5,750
Club MMD 1
also lists Rockwall
Water Districts$33,466,000$3,150
MabankCities$32,858,000$4,680
Kaufman County MUD 07Water Districts$32,855,000$6,999
Kaufman County MUD 02Water Districts$31,750,000$8,639
ForneyCities$26,148,000$678
Kaufman County MUD 11Water Districts$21,375,000$4,973
Kaufman County FWSD 4BWater Districts$16,095,000$33,323
Las Lomas MUD 4AWater Districts$11,725,000$22,206
Walden Pond FWSDWater Districts$11,250,000$8,594
Kaufman County MUD 12Water Districts$10,905,000$643
Kaufman County MUD 09Water Districts$10,250,000$11,010
Scurry-Rosser ISDIndependent School Districts$7,110,000$1,531
TaltyCities$7,090,000$2,217
KempCities$6,997,000$4,948
Kaufman County FWSD 1BWater Districts$4,160,000$1,771
Kaufman County FWSD 7AWater Districts$1,000,000Not reported

Scroll for more columns →

Governments attributed to the county, fiscal year 2025. Select a column heading to sort by it.
Issuer ?Type ?Principal outstanding ?Per resident ?
Forney ISDIndependent School Districts$1,264,769,911$20,675
Terrell ISDIndependent School Districts$308,605,782$10,426
Crandall ISDIndependent School Districts$285,825,000$11,507
Kaufman ISDIndependent School Districts$180,580,000$7,073
Kaufman CountyCounties$169,615,000$857
TerrellCities$157,448,000$6,852
Mabank ISDIndependent School Districts$131,039,306$5,313
Kaufman County MUD 05Water Districts$88,785,000$10,196
Kaufman County MUD 03Water Districts$81,615,000$16,375
CrandallCities$77,411,000$13,010
Kaufman County FWSD 4AWater Districts$75,040,000$9,958
KaufmanCities$57,502,000$5,877
Kaufman County MUD 06Water Districts$56,010,000$9,229
Kaufman County MUD 14Water Districts$52,455,000$7,178
Kaufman County MUD 04Water Districts$48,070,000$12,111
Kaufman County MUD 10Water Districts$46,360,000$14,182
Kemp ISDIndependent School Districts$36,729,990$2,362
Kaufman County FWSD 6Water Districts$35,905,000Not reported
Kaufman County FWSD 1DWater Districts$35,010,000$9,777
Kaufman County FWSD 1CWater Districts$33,630,000$5,750
Club MMD 1
also lists Rockwall
Water Districts$33,466,000$3,150
MabankCities$32,858,000$4,680
Kaufman County MUD 07Water Districts$32,855,000$6,999
Kaufman County MUD 02Water Districts$31,750,000$8,639
ForneyCities$26,148,000$678
Kaufman County MUD 11Water Districts$21,375,000$4,973
Kaufman County FWSD 4BWater Districts$16,095,000$33,323
Las Lomas MUD 4AWater Districts$11,725,000$22,206
Walden Pond FWSDWater Districts$11,250,000$8,594
Kaufman County MUD 12Water Districts$10,905,000$643
Kaufman County MUD 09Water Districts$10,250,000$11,010
Scurry-Rosser ISDIndependent School Districts$7,110,000$1,531
TaltyCities$7,090,000$2,217
KempCities$6,997,000$4,948
Kaufman County FWSD 1BWater Districts$4,160,000$1,771
Kaufman County FWSD 7AWater Districts$1,000,000Not reported
  1. Forney ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $1,264,769,911Per resident: $20,675
  2. Terrell ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $308,605,782Per resident: $10,426
  3. Crandall ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $285,825,000Per resident: $11,507
  4. Kaufman ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $180,580,000Per resident: $7,073
  5. Kaufman CountyCountiesPrincipal $169,615,000Per resident: $857
  6. TerrellCitiesPrincipal $157,448,000Per resident: $6,852
  7. Mabank ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $131,039,306Per resident: $5,313
  8. Kaufman County MUD 05Water DistrictsPrincipal $88,785,000Per resident: $10,196
  9. Kaufman County MUD 03Water DistrictsPrincipal $81,615,000Per resident: $16,375
  10. CrandallCitiesPrincipal $77,411,000Per resident: $13,010
  11. Kaufman County FWSD 4AWater DistrictsPrincipal $75,040,000Per resident: $9,958
  12. KaufmanCitiesPrincipal $57,502,000Per resident: $5,877
  13. Kaufman County MUD 06Water DistrictsPrincipal $56,010,000Per resident: $9,229
  14. Kaufman County MUD 14Water DistrictsPrincipal $52,455,000Per resident: $7,178
  15. Kaufman County MUD 04Water DistrictsPrincipal $48,070,000Per resident: $12,111
  16. Kaufman County MUD 10Water DistrictsPrincipal $46,360,000Per resident: $14,182
  17. Kemp ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $36,729,990Per resident: $2,362
  18. Kaufman County FWSD 6Water DistrictsPrincipal $35,905,000Per resident: Not reported
  19. Kaufman County FWSD 1DWater DistrictsPrincipal $35,010,000Per resident: $9,777
  20. Kaufman County FWSD 1CWater DistrictsPrincipal $33,630,000Per resident: $5,750
  21. Club MMD 1Water Districts; also lists RockwallPrincipal $33,466,000Per resident: $3,150
  22. MabankCitiesPrincipal $32,858,000Per resident: $4,680
  23. Kaufman County MUD 07Water DistrictsPrincipal $32,855,000Per resident: $6,999
  24. Kaufman County MUD 02Water DistrictsPrincipal $31,750,000Per resident: $8,639
  25. ForneyCitiesPrincipal $26,148,000Per resident: $678
  26. Kaufman County MUD 11Water DistrictsPrincipal $21,375,000Per resident: $4,973
  27. Kaufman County FWSD 4BWater DistrictsPrincipal $16,095,000Per resident: $33,323
  28. Las Lomas MUD 4AWater DistrictsPrincipal $11,725,000Per resident: $22,206
  29. Walden Pond FWSDWater DistrictsPrincipal $11,250,000Per resident: $8,594
  30. Kaufman County MUD 12Water DistrictsPrincipal $10,905,000Per resident: $643
  31. Kaufman County MUD 09Water DistrictsPrincipal $10,250,000Per resident: $11,010
  32. Scurry-Rosser ISDIndependent School DistrictsPrincipal $7,110,000Per resident: $1,531
  33. TaltyCitiesPrincipal $7,090,000Per resident: $2,217
  34. KempCitiesPrincipal $6,997,000Per resident: $4,948
  35. Kaufman County FWSD 1BWater DistrictsPrincipal $4,160,000Per resident: $1,771
  36. Kaufman County FWSD 7AWater DistrictsPrincipal $1,000,000Per resident: Not reported

Rows 1–36 of 36

Skip the governments table

Also serve Kaufman County

Download CSV

$33,466,000 of this county's $3,487,439,989 (1%) is owed by 1 issuer attributed here that lists other counties too. These 3 issuers list Kaufman County but count in another county, the first one listed for each:

Issuers that list this county but count in another
Issuer?Type?Counted in?Principal outstanding?
SeagovilleCitiesDallas$64,105,000
Ables Springs Special UDWater DistrictsHunt$2,078,000
CombineCitiesDallas$488,000

Scroll for more columns →

Issuers that list this county but count in another
Issuer?Type?Counted in?Principal outstanding?
SeagovilleCitiesDallas$64,105,000
Ables Springs Special UDWater DistrictsHunt$2,078,000
CombineCitiesDallas$488,000

Over the years

Download CSV
Principal outstanding at each fiscal year end; the table below gives the figures.$765.7million2016$862.4million2017$874.1million2018$965.5million2019$1.2billion2020$1.4billion2021$2.2billion2022$2.5billion2023$2.7billion2024$3.5billion2025
2016: $765.7 million; 2025: $3.5 billion
Principal outstanding, issuers and population at each fiscal year end
Fiscal year?Principal outstanding?Issuers?Population?
Fiscal year2025Principal outstanding$3,487,439,989Issuers36Population197,829
Fiscal year2024Principal outstanding$2,731,331,950Issuers35Population185,690
Fiscal year2023Principal outstanding$2,524,661,330Issuers32Population172,366
Fiscal year2022Principal outstanding$2,223,002,650Issuers31Population157,768
Fiscal year2021Principal outstanding$1,431,344,467Issuers30Population145,310
Fiscal year2020Principal outstanding$1,164,243,601Issuers26Population136,154
Fiscal year2019Principal outstanding$965,513,502Issuers26Population128,622
Fiscal year2018Principal outstanding$874,059,950Issuers24Population122,883
Fiscal year2017Principal outstanding$862,428,124Issuers24Population118,350
Fiscal year2016Principal outstanding$765,723,500Issuers24Population114,690

Scroll for more columns →

Principal outstanding, issuers and population at each fiscal year end
Fiscal year?Principal outstanding?Issuers?Population?
Fiscal year2025Principal outstanding$3,487,439,989Issuers36Population197,829
Fiscal year2024Principal outstanding$2,731,331,950Issuers35Population185,690
Fiscal year2023Principal outstanding$2,524,661,330Issuers32Population172,366
Fiscal year2022Principal outstanding$2,223,002,650Issuers31Population157,768
Fiscal year2021Principal outstanding$1,431,344,467Issuers30Population145,310
Fiscal year2020Principal outstanding$1,164,243,601Issuers26Population136,154
Fiscal year2019Principal outstanding$965,513,502Issuers26Population128,622
Fiscal year2018Principal outstanding$874,059,950Issuers24Population122,883
Fiscal year2017Principal outstanding$862,428,124Issuers24Population118,350
Fiscal year2016Principal outstanding$765,723,500Issuers24Population114,690

How these figures are made

Total principal outstanding

principal outstanding at the fiscal year end, summed over the local governments attributed to the county; computed here from BRB's tables for fiscal year 2025. It has no denominator.

Which governments count here

BRB's County field lists every county an issuer serves and gives no shares. An issuer's debt counts in its home county, the first county listed for it, so each dollar counts once statewide. Of Kaufman County's $3,487,439,989, $33,466,000 is owed by issuers that list other counties too. Issuers that list Kaufman County but count in another are under "Also serve Kaufman County". Per resident in the issuer list uses each government's own reported population, where it reports one.

Not reported means no government of the chosen type in the county reported the amount that year, or the denominator was not reported. It is never shown as zero.

Fiscal years: Texas fiscal years run September 1 to August 31. Local governments report at the end of their own fiscal year, as BRB's tables do.

The full method, with the class breaks and the size bands, is on the explorer's main page. Sources are listed below.

EMMA links are added as each issue is matched.

Source: Local Issuance Fee By Year (updated by the publisher 10/6/2026); Debt Outstanding By Issuance Local By Year (updated by the publisher 9/9/2026). Loaded here 10/18/2026.

Texas fiscal years run September 1 to August 31.

Issuer names are shown as published, without source footnote letters.

Figures are as reported to the agency and have not been independently verified.