This is a MuniPro demonstration of a redesigned Texas Bond Review Board website. It is not the official BRB site: nothing filed here reaches BRB, and the email addresses shown are BRB's own.

The official site is brb.texas.gov.

County · Debt explorer

Dallas County

Print county brief1 page, fiscal year 2025

Dallas County's 57 local governments owed $47.0 billion in principal outstanding at the end of fiscal year 2025, 2nd of 252 counties and 2nd of 12. Of that, $8.4 billion is owed by 6 issuers that also serve other counties. Figures as loaded 10/18/2026.

Showing Total principal outstanding for all local governments, fiscal year 2025. How it is computed: principal outstanding at the fiscal year end, summed over the local governments attributed to the county; computed here from BRB's tables. Method.

Total principal outstanding
$47,038,679,145
Rank
2nd of 252
Rank in its size band
2nd of 12
Population (county government's row)
2,656,028
Of which multi-county issuers
$8,427,025,000

Every bond issue in Dallas County in the bond database

Debt by government type, fiscal year 2025

Download CSV
Principal outstanding by government type; the table below gives the figures.Cities: $19.4 billionCounties: $179.5 millionWater Districts: $2.0 billionIndependent School Districts: $11.8billionCommunity & Junior CollegeDistricts: $254.1 millionHealth & Hospital Districts: $612.0millionOther Special Districts: $12.8billion

Governments attributed to Dallas County

Download CSV

Each counts here because Dallas is the first county BRB lists for it. Per resident uses the government's own reported population, where it reports one.

Governments attributed to the county, fiscal year 2025. Select a column heading to sort by it.
Issuer ?Type ?Principal outstanding ?Per resident ?
North Texas Tollway AuthorityOther Special Districts$8,502,014,815$1,222
Dallas-Fort Worth Int Airport
also lists Tarrant
Cities$7,675,155,000Not reported
DallasCities$5,721,968,583$4,315
Dallas ISDIndependent School Districts$4,613,765,000$3,537
Dallas Area Rapid TransitOther Special Districts$4,264,685,000$1,686
Trinity RAWater Districts$1,769,360,000Not reported
GarlandCities$1,601,925,000$6,397
IrvingCities$1,155,490,000$4,478
Mesquite ISDIndependent School Districts$1,067,475,402$5,961
Garland ISDIndependent School Districts$1,057,345,000$3,467
Richardson ISDIndependent School Districts$978,985,000$4,337
Carrollton-Farmers Branch ISDIndependent School Districts$917,255,000$4,695
Irving ISDIndependent School Districts$745,650,000$4,234
Grand PrairieCities$631,929,000$3,048
MesquiteCities$540,426,000$3,599
Dallas County Hospital DistrictHealth & Hospital Districts$511,285,000$187
Richardson
also lists Collin
Cities$463,405,000$3,920
Coppell ISDIndependent School Districts$424,510,194$8,365
Highland Park ISDIndependent School Districts$406,545,000$11,845
Cedar Hill ISDIndependent School Districts$348,852,799$8,425
Duncanville ISDIndependent School Districts$325,515,000$4,225
Grand Prairie ISDIndependent School Districts$320,395,000$2,279
RowlettCities$303,765,000$4,459
DeSoto ISDIndependent School Districts$285,198,605$31,689
Dallas County CCDCommunity & Junior College Districts$254,115,000$96
CarrolltonCities$224,780,000$1,659
Dallas CountyCounties$179,530,000$68
DeSotoCities$174,351,000$3,074
Sunnyvale ISDIndependent School Districts$168,652,574$19,403
Lancaster ISDIndependent School Districts$159,745,000$4,215
CoppellCities$137,510,000$3,291
AddisonCities$134,025,000$7,766
Cedar Hill
also lists Ellis
Cities$123,690,000$2,493
Sachse
also lists Collin
Cities$100,182,000$3,035
LancasterCities$96,972,401$2,378
Irving Hospital AuthorityHealth & Hospital Districts$92,645,000$386
Dallas County U&RDWater Districts$76,430,000Not reported
HutchinsCities$71,230,000$8,908
Farmers BranchCities$70,730,000$1,894
Seagoville
also lists Kaufman
Cities$64,105,000$3,185
University Hills MMDWater Districts$52,984,000$39
WilmerCities$33,756,000$4,983
SunnyvaleCities$28,245,000$3,195
Balch SpringsCities$28,156,000$1,031
Dallas County MUD 4Water Districts$21,370,000$16,540
Lancaster MUD 1Water Districts$16,835,000$5,866
DuncanvilleCities$16,445,000$419
Dallas County FCD 1Water Districts$14,430,000$5,772
University ParkCities$11,930,000$472
Glenn HeightsCities$10,055,000$509
Dallas County Park Cities MUDWater Districts$9,675,000Not reported
Northwest Dallas County FCDWater Districts$9,660,000$1,858
Wilmer MUD 1Water Districts$8,140,000Not reported
Metrocrest Hospital AuthorityHealth & Hospital Districts$8,101,772Not reported
Cockrell HillCities$5,440,000$1,486
Irving FCD Section 1Water Districts$1,375,000Not reported
Combine
also lists Kaufman
Cities$488,000$180

Scroll for more columns →

Governments attributed to the county, fiscal year 2025. Select a column heading to sort by it.
Issuer ?Type ?Principal outstanding ?Per resident ?
North Texas Tollway AuthorityOther Special Districts$8,502,014,815$1,222
Dallas-Fort Worth Int Airport
also lists Tarrant
Cities$7,675,155,000Not reported
DallasCities$5,721,968,583$4,315
Dallas ISDIndependent School Districts$4,613,765,000$3,537
Dallas Area Rapid TransitOther Special Districts$4,264,685,000$1,686
Trinity RAWater Districts$1,769,360,000Not reported
GarlandCities$1,601,925,000$6,397
IrvingCities$1,155,490,000$4,478
Mesquite ISDIndependent School Districts$1,067,475,402$5,961
Garland ISDIndependent School Districts$1,057,345,000$3,467
Richardson ISDIndependent School Districts$978,985,000$4,337
Carrollton-Farmers Branch ISDIndependent School Districts$917,255,000$4,695
Irving ISDIndependent School Districts$745,650,000$4,234
Grand PrairieCities$631,929,000$3,048
MesquiteCities$540,426,000$3,599
Dallas County Hospital DistrictHealth & Hospital Districts$511,285,000$187
Richardson
also lists Collin
Cities$463,405,000$3,920
Coppell ISDIndependent School Districts$424,510,194$8,365
Highland Park ISDIndependent School Districts$406,545,000$11,845
Cedar Hill ISDIndependent School Districts$348,852,799$8,425
Duncanville ISDIndependent School Districts$325,515,000$4,225
Grand Prairie ISDIndependent School Districts$320,395,000$2,279
RowlettCities$303,765,000$4,459
DeSoto ISDIndependent School Districts$285,198,605$31,689
Dallas County CCDCommunity & Junior College Districts$254,115,000$96
CarrolltonCities$224,780,000$1,659
Dallas CountyCounties$179,530,000$68
DeSotoCities$174,351,000$3,074
Sunnyvale ISDIndependent School Districts$168,652,574$19,403
Lancaster ISDIndependent School Districts$159,745,000$4,215
CoppellCities$137,510,000$3,291
AddisonCities$134,025,000$7,766
Cedar Hill
also lists Ellis
Cities$123,690,000$2,493
Sachse
also lists Collin
Cities$100,182,000$3,035
LancasterCities$96,972,401$2,378
Irving Hospital AuthorityHealth & Hospital Districts$92,645,000$386
Dallas County U&RDWater Districts$76,430,000Not reported
HutchinsCities$71,230,000$8,908
Farmers BranchCities$70,730,000$1,894
Seagoville
also lists Kaufman
Cities$64,105,000$3,185
University Hills MMDWater Districts$52,984,000$39
WilmerCities$33,756,000$4,983
SunnyvaleCities$28,245,000$3,195
Balch SpringsCities$28,156,000$1,031
Dallas County MUD 4Water Districts$21,370,000$16,540
Lancaster MUD 1Water Districts$16,835,000$5,866
DuncanvilleCities$16,445,000$419
Dallas County FCD 1Water Districts$14,430,000$5,772
University ParkCities$11,930,000$472
Glenn HeightsCities$10,055,000$509
Dallas County Park Cities MUDWater Districts$9,675,000Not reported
Northwest Dallas County FCDWater Districts$9,660,000$1,858
Wilmer MUD 1Water Districts$8,140,000Not reported
Metrocrest Hospital AuthorityHealth & Hospital Districts$8,101,772Not reported
Cockrell HillCities$5,440,000$1,486
Irving FCD Section 1Water Districts$1,375,000Not reported
Combine
also lists Kaufman
Cities$488,000$180
  1. Dallas County Park Cities MUDWater DistrictsPrincipal $9,675,000Per resident: Not reported
  2. Northwest Dallas County FCDWater DistrictsPrincipal $9,660,000Per resident: $1,858
  3. Wilmer MUD 1Water DistrictsPrincipal $8,140,000Per resident: Not reported
  4. Metrocrest Hospital AuthorityHealth & Hospital DistrictsPrincipal $8,101,772Per resident: Not reported
  5. Cockrell HillCitiesPrincipal $5,440,000Per resident: $1,486
  6. Irving FCD Section 1Water DistrictsPrincipal $1,375,000Per resident: Not reported
  7. CombineCities; also lists KaufmanPrincipal $488,000Per resident: $180

Rows 51–57 of 57

Skip the governments table

Also serve Dallas County

$8,427,025,000 of this county's $47,038,679,145 (18%) is owed by 6 issuers attributed here that list other counties too. No issuer counted in another county lists Dallas County.

Over the years

Download CSV
Principal outstanding at each fiscal year end; the table below gives the figures.$35.7billion2016$36.1billion2017$37.0billion2018$37.9billion2019$38.0billion2020$38.8billion2021$41.4billion2022$43.1billion2023$44.8billion2024$47.0billion2025
2016: $35.7 billion; 2025: $47.0 billion
Principal outstanding, issuers and population at each fiscal year end
Fiscal year?Principal outstanding?Issuers?Population?
Fiscal year2025Principal outstanding$47,038,679,145Issuers57Population2,656,028
Fiscal year2024Principal outstanding$44,751,896,666Issuers56Population2,606,358
Fiscal year2023Principal outstanding$43,075,074,292Issuers55Population2,600,840
Fiscal year2022Principal outstanding$41,434,484,919Issuers55Population2,586,050
Fiscal year2021Principal outstanding$38,831,174,037Issuers55Population2,613,539
Fiscal year2020Principal outstanding$38,039,694,070Issuers55Population2,635,516
Fiscal year2019Principal outstanding$37,921,354,436Issuers55Population2,637,772
Fiscal year2018Principal outstanding$37,036,445,473Issuers57Population2,618,148
Fiscal year2017Principal outstanding$36,075,136,036Issuers56Population2,574,984
Fiscal year2016Principal outstanding$35,691,881,058Issuers57Population2,553,385

Scroll for more columns →

Principal outstanding, issuers and population at each fiscal year end
Fiscal year?Principal outstanding?Issuers?Population?
Fiscal year2025Principal outstanding$47,038,679,145Issuers57Population2,656,028
Fiscal year2024Principal outstanding$44,751,896,666Issuers56Population2,606,358
Fiscal year2023Principal outstanding$43,075,074,292Issuers55Population2,600,840
Fiscal year2022Principal outstanding$41,434,484,919Issuers55Population2,586,050
Fiscal year2021Principal outstanding$38,831,174,037Issuers55Population2,613,539
Fiscal year2020Principal outstanding$38,039,694,070Issuers55Population2,635,516
Fiscal year2019Principal outstanding$37,921,354,436Issuers55Population2,637,772
Fiscal year2018Principal outstanding$37,036,445,473Issuers57Population2,618,148
Fiscal year2017Principal outstanding$36,075,136,036Issuers56Population2,574,984
Fiscal year2016Principal outstanding$35,691,881,058Issuers57Population2,553,385

How these figures are made

Total principal outstanding

principal outstanding at the fiscal year end, summed over the local governments attributed to the county; computed here from BRB's tables for fiscal year 2025. It has no denominator.

Which governments count here

BRB's County field lists every county an issuer serves and gives no shares. An issuer's debt counts in its home county, the first county listed for it, so each dollar counts once statewide. Of Dallas County's $47,038,679,145, $8,427,025,000 is owed by issuers that list other counties too. Issuers that list Dallas County but count in another are under "Also serve Dallas County". Per resident in the issuer list uses each government's own reported population, where it reports one.

Not reported means no government of the chosen type in the county reported the amount that year, or the denominator was not reported. It is never shown as zero.

Fiscal years: Texas fiscal years run September 1 to August 31. Local governments report at the end of their own fiscal year, as BRB's tables do.

The full method, with the class breaks and the size bands, is on the explorer's main page. Sources are listed below.

EMMA links are added as each issue is matched.

Source: Local Issuance Fee By Year (updated by the publisher 10/6/2026); Debt Outstanding By Issuance Local By Year (updated by the publisher 9/9/2026). Loaded here 10/18/2026.

Texas fiscal years run September 1 to August 31.

Issuer names are shown as published, without source footnote letters.

Figures are as reported to the agency and have not been independently verified.